We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Stay in a very nice house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiva Dunes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiva Dunes Resort
Save
You added Kiva Dunes Resort to your Saves list
815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Quiet Stay in a very nice house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We rented a house in the Kiva Dunes Resort area over spring break. the "houses" are in a separate gated area behind the golf club house. We rented Piper House; which is a two bedroom, two bath, two story place. One bedroom is downstairs, and has it's own bathroom; and laundry room. Upstairs is the living room, kitchen and the other bedroom/bath. There is also a patio upstairs overlooking the neighborhood. This house is across the boardwalk from the ocean, so there is no ocean view (nor can you hear it); but it's quiet and the boardwalk over the dunes to the beach is a fairly short walk. There is a pool in close proximity as well; but it wasn't heated and was quite cold.

The kitchen is well equipped; but the appliances are somewhat old (but they all worked). the living furniture is extremely comfortable; and there are TV's in every bedroom as well with excellent cable access. There is Wifi; but it is shared with the house next door; it worked, but was a bit slow. The beds are queen size (we prefer King); but they were comfortable.

My husband said the golf course; he paid $98 each round. The restaurant at the club house was good and served burgers and the like; pricing was reasonable.

The beach is stunningly gorgeous.. huge and not crowded. That was the best part of the stay.

It takes about 20 minutes to drive into town to the city of Gulf Shores. Here you can find a lot of things to do like miniature golf, go carting, tons of restaurants, shops and more beach. We went to Lamberts café (was told it is a must have experience)- they throw the rolls at you... was a good time but WAY too much food for us.

We paid $1300 for the week to rent the house; quite reasonable. There are other houses that are right ON the beach; but they are huge; would be a good spot to take a multi-family trip.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: if you want ocean front; you'll need to go for the larger homes; otherwise, the houses are all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahomet, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Kerri helped us with our first ever condo rental. This resort was amazing. As you can see from the photos, it is clean, big and scenic. Our condo overlooked the 18th green. The restaurant was AMAZING. We had the breakfast buffet (which was less than $10.00 per person) and also tried the Mai Mai for dinner the night before. GOTTA TRY THE CORN FRITTERS as an appetizer. The waitress (Angie?) from Ohio was friendly and helpful.
The condo was completely furnished (didn't have a hair dryer in the condo) but everything else was there (down to the wine opener). We will definately be back.
Thanks Kerri and Kiva Dunes for a great visit.

Room Tip: Contact Kerri and tell her she was recommended on Trip Advisor. She will take care of you. She eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I just returned from a great visit at Kiva Dunes! The resort is located 15 miles away from central Gulf Shores which is close enough to access but far enough away to appreciate the uncrowded beaches! The grounds and course are well manicured even in the off season of January. I have visited this property in the summer and the beach and pools are very inviting. we stayed in kiva village over looking the course. The two bedroom that we rented was spacious with a large balcony! All of the appliances are new and modern decor. I look forward to my next visit!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Kiva Village and loved it! The view of the golf course was amazing! Didn't play the course but it looked well kept! My family really enjoyed watching the alligator off of the balcony each and everyday! The beach at Kiva Dunes was beautiful! It was just about a 10 minute walk from the village or we would drive to the pool and walk across the dunes to the beach. The beach itself was quiet and very peaceful! We really enjoyed looking for shells and making sand castles each day of our stay! Definitely would stay at Kiva Village again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Resort is in a beautiful location on Fort Morgan Road outside Gulf Shores. It is about a 15 mile drive from central Gulf Shores but well worth the ride. Very nice facilities that include Condo and house rentals. This Resort has a must play golf course - both challenging and beautiful. You will enjoy your experience at Kiva Dunes.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

The Kiva Dunes Lodge is in a great location with wonderful views. Even has a restaurant which is very convenient for late arrivals and days when you do not feel like fighting the crowds in Gulf Shores. The private beaches were uncrowded even during the peak months. The only disadvantage is the distance from the beach; however, there is shuttle service available and very limited parking near the boardwalk.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Kiva Dunes and we are so glad we chose unit 607 at the Lodge. Our party was celebrating a 50th birthday and this penthouse was the perfect place. The views are spectacular from the master suite wraparound balcony! The gulf beach views were breathtaking especially with the surf being so high due to tropical storm Debby being nearby. There are also views of several holes of their golf course to enjoy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the private beach access and 3 beautiful pools. The area is quiet but close to all the action if that's what you're looking for. This may have been our first visit but it definitely won't be our last.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiva Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Dunes Resort

Address: 815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 64

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiva Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.