We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#IWE-801 Bad Choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Island Winds East

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Winds East
Save
You added Island Winds East to your Saves list
333 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Harleysville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“#IWE-801 Bad Choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lights not working bedroom #2, 5 chairs 4 table,Outlets don't work when you plug something in the plug falls right out, Both bathroom sinks leak very badly, Fan vent & tile missing in #1 bathroom, TP holder was hanging out of the wall,Toilet runs thru when flushed, Light switches don't work in some rooms, Living room fan has to be started by hand to get it going. The floor felt like it was coated with sand when we removed our shoes upon arrival. I Gave a list of 12 problems to the desk upon checking out..

Room Tip: Try to see the room before you reserve it to stay. View was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been coming to Gulf Shores since1995. We started our vacation in another rental-which is another story. In 1998 we began going thru Brett Robinson & staying at Island Winds East which turned out to be really great. Over the years we have stayed in different condos at IWE, according to the size of our family at the time. We have ALWAYS had great service from everyone working here & plan on coming back for years. Our last trip was cut short due to ISSAC but enjoyed the time we had. The condo was fully furnished with everything we needed to get started & the location couldn't be better. You're close to everything - restaurants, shops & the beach is right outside your door - who could ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

IWE is the first condo from "the" redlight & is the perfect location for getting around quickly. Walking to attractions like The Hangout, Souviner City, & Pink Pony Pub is done very easily. We (5) stayed in room 209, & were very comfortable. Rooms have plenty of room for a family, & bathrooms are adequate. Kitchen is compact, but is fully functionable. This condo has a wide balcony with super views. Pool is two feet deep in shallow end, which all small children enjoyed. We enjoyed this clean & comfortable room very much. Book through Brett/Robinson Vacations for great customer service. We use them every summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock,AR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have vacationed at Island Winds East for many years & plan to, for many years to come! Unit 806 is an awesome 1 bedroom condo, with all the amenities of home. The owners keep their unit updated, cozy & comfortable. The balcony has a fantastic view & plenty of room for 2. IWE is conveniently located, next to the Public Beach & many shops & restaurants. This year, folks were able to rent Jet Ski's & Parasail, right from the beach in front of IWE, which provided great entertainment!! The staff at IWE is always friendly & helpful & make checking in & out, a breeze!! Brett Robinson offers many specials, throughout the year & also offer free nite specials. They have many locations to choose from but, we always choose IWE for convenience, comfort & cost. Check out Gulf Shores & Orange Beach, it's awesome!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. James, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Before booking this trip I had my travel agent call to make sure we had a beachfront view, we were assured we did. Our balcony overlooked the parking lot. When we called about this we were blown off by the lady at the front desk, basically being told that it was not her problem.

We then went down to the beach. After coming back up, we couldn't get in our room. The batteries in the door where you swipe the card had gone bad and apparently the ONLY tool in gulf shores to change them was on some other property. So we were left locked outside in nothing but our wet bathing suits for over an hour until we could get in. We didn't so much as have a dollar for the vending machine to feed our kids but once again, this was not that important to anyone but us.

After we finally got back in the room, hungry and tired, the toilet in the spare room where our children were staying overflowed getting toilet water all over the floor in the bathroom and the bedroom. The man that came to fix that was pretty prompt but we didn't see housekeeping until 11:30 that night to come mop the toilet water off our kids floors, essentially making it so they couldn't even go in there and go to bed til it was cleaned up.

I called my travel agent who in turn called someone from Brett Robinson. She called me to find out what happened, when I told her she said she would call me back the next day but I NEVER heard from her again. Can't say I'm surprised.

I will never stay at a Brett-Robinson property again, I've been sure to tell everyone I know how we've been treated and I've also let my travel agent know that you have no customer service and she won't make the mistake of ever booking anyone with you again.

Room Tip: Pick a different place to stay that's not owned by Brett-Robinson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have stayed at Brett/Robinson Vacations Rentals for the last 15 years and have never been disappointed. We really enjoy Island Winds East due to its location! Close to all the great restaurants & local hangouts. The staff is always very accomadating to all our needs and very friendly! Our unit was very well stocked with everything we needed. Ike's Beach Service takes great care of us on the beach, providing us with exceptional service. Adjusting our umbrellas to keep us out of the sun or in, whichever we prefer. We also stay there every October for the fabulous Shrimp Festival, which we can walk to from Island Winds East. Not having to worry about parking or getting into all the traffic. We will be back October 2012! Thanks Brett/Robinson for the terrific services you provide!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful view, great location, great price. The bedroom had no door. If you have kids this is a big negative. The hot water runs out very quick. The bath drain is slow. There was a little too much night noise. Would be ok for a honeymoon or empty nest couple. Unit #206

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Winds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds East

Address: 333 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Winds East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.