We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite course to play” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club

Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
20 Peninsula Blvd., Gulf Shores, AL 36542
800-391-8009
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated four stars by Golf Digest, this 27-hole golf course plays 7,026 yards from the championship tees and offers a number of tee boxes to accommodate different levels of skill.
Duson, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My favorite course to play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The guys in my family have been playing golf in the Gulf Shores area for about 12 years now. We've played at just about every course, and The Peninsula is by far our favorite. Our group consists of widely varying skill levels from my dad who gives golf lessons to my younger brother who only plays once a year while we're on vacation. What makes this course great is that the layout if forgiving yet challenging. If you're trying to play smart, you'll end up with a decent score. If you think you're Tiger Woods, you may end up shooting in the triple digits. The course is extremely well maintained every year I've gone, except for one year when they were either re-sodding the greens or had lost them completely. Either way, when we went back the next year they were gorgeous again. I would recommend playing in the afternoon if possible. The twilight rates can save you a lot of cash. Be sure to grab an ice cold apple. Their grill is actually pretty tasty and reasonable priced as well. I also enjoyed the curbside bag services. Be sure to tip those guys if they do a good job and are friendly. Go play it! You will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable golf course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We played 18 of the 27 holes and found the course to be very enjoyable. The staff was very nice and friendly.
We also played Craft Farms and found that both of the courses at Craft Farms were in overall better condition than the Peninsula.
We didn't try the restaurant, but the golf pro shop is very nice.
Challenging enough for the good player, but forgiving enough for the average player.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The personnel at Peninsula Golf are so friendly and helpful. The course is beautiful and challenging.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice club to enjoy golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great 27 hole golf course, always in good shape. Good restaurant with great food., friendly employees.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We play this course every winter and it's always great. It's always a challenge and is always in super shape. There are 3 courses and we enjoy them all. We play with the MI group, which makes for a very large outing. Everything is always ready and very organized. They have 6 pack deals good though the end of March which is a great way to save a little. They are usually available for purchase starting in Oct (I think).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club also viewed

 

Been to Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.