We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Challenging and beautiful golf course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiva Dunes Golf Club

Kiva Dunes Golf Club
815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
888-833-5482, 334-540-7000
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Attractions in Gulf Shores
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing, Group tours/air tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Stretching 7,092 yards with a U.S.G.A. rating of 73.9 and a slope rating of 132, this spectacular 18-hole golf course meanders through natural sand dunes, lakes and wildlife areas.
Iowa
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very Challenging and beautiful golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the google earth pictures I thought this was going to be a ho-hum back and forward course. Don't let the SAT images fool you because the variety of holes make this course a masterpiece in design. Very rugged and beautiful course and we played it at about 6500 yards. Lots of water and sand but still a very fair golf course. Pretty generous off the tee, especially the second time around. The finishing 18th was a beautiful hole played right up against the clubhouse. Don't miss the bloody mary's and the breakfast burritos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“extremely hard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very challenging course, LOT'S of sand and water! Very beautiful .Had lunch after playing and all our choices were very good and reasonable. The price for the golf is rather expensive if you go during top season. This course really makes you appreciate the pros.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trapped at Kiva Dunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our group goes to Gulf Shores each year for a golf trip. We play Kiva Dunes twice each year so I have played it about twenty-five times. It's a very good golf course. It's links-like and plays fast and hard. Some of the green complexes are a bit daffy (Holes 4, 10, 15 come to mind), but the greens run fast and are fun to play. My only complaint, and it's a big one, are the bunkers. They too are large, but that's not the problem. The sand, depth, not quality, is so inconsistent as to make some of the bunkers unplayable. Too often, the sand is too deep on the faces of the bunkers, resulting in plugged and buried lies. The depth of the sand prevents most shots from finding the bottom of the bunkers. When you do get to play from the bottom, the sand is often too thin, offering no real cushion at all. It really is a fun course to play, but the poor bunkers prevent Kiva Dunes from being a genuinely top-rated course. All the other amenities are very good, including the friendliness of the staff and the food in the club house.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Eagle has landed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well kept course. Excellent greens. Actually saw an alligator on in the sand trap. He minded his own business! WONDERFUL restaurant. Nice pro shop also.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duson, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best courses on the Gulf.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Every year, my extended family travels to Fort Morgan and rents a beach house. The women chill on the beach, and the men explore local golf courses. Throughout the years, this has become the epitome of a love/hate relationship for me.
I give this course five stars because of the layout, the setting, and overall enjoyability of playing it. That being said, if you struggle with consistency and distance, this course will eat your frickin lunch. Not a great course to bring a beginner on unless he's drunk and doesn't care what his score is or how many balls he loses.
Between the water, bunkers every 15 feet, and the super aggravating protected sand dune ecosystems throughout the course, not one hole fails to offer even the most experienced player a challenge. The greens are tough and unpredictable. The winds mess with your mind. In June it's hotter than the Sahara because there are no trees and the sand reflects the sun in your face.
The clubhouse is nice, and the people are friendly. Of course, I'm writing this while sitting in my office at work, so they could have beaten me with club shafts and I'd still rather be there than here.
Bring a lot of balls, a lot of water, and a lot of prayers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiva Dunes Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Kiva Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiva Dunes Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.