We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG beautiful, OMG sand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiva Dunes Golf Club

Kiva Dunes Golf Club
815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
888-833-5482, 334-540-7000
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 attractions in Gulf Shores
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing, Group tours/air tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Stretching 7,092 yards with a U.S.G.A. rating of 73.9 and a slope rating of 132, this spectacular 18-hole golf course meanders through natural sand dunes, lakes and wildlife areas.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“OMG beautiful, OMG sand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The course was so lush you could probably putt from tee to green. It was gorgeous! For me, a senior female, the fron was fairly easy but the traps on the back ate me up. Two were so deep I could not see out of them and my husband had to give be a hand getting out physically. We still enjoyed the experience however. It was a splurge for us as it is pricey, even at twilight rates. We were surprised the was no gps on the carts and were glad we had our Garmin. The course had restroom faciities.The clubhouse, pro shop and snack bar were nice and staffed with friendly people.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    5
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

For a bar/grill the menu had a lot of variety - the food was great

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tough but not a premeir”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Course is tough but fair. It is touted as among Alabama's premeir courses but our cart had no GPS and only a few sprinkler heads had yardage numbers. We were told our Pm tee time would allow a daylite finish but the allowed five some in front of us were s l o w and no on course rangers to monitor this. Resort on water but no water views while on the course-- a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was my second time playing Kiva Dunes, and first time in over a decade. The course, which I already had fond memories of, was in great shape. Beautiful course, large greens, all well manicured and in great shape. Course can play tough and it is easy to lose golf balls here. When I played in the late 90's we saw all kinds of unsavory creatures in the rough...snakes, gators, etc...it seems the wildlife has retreated some since then. That does explain why we found 40 balls in the rough this time though...so be careful about venturing off the beaten path. The solution would be to just hit it straight, but we haven't managed to learn how to do that just yet.

Overall a great experience. I will play there again. It is pricey, but in line with the other top courses of the area.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent course...avoid the bunkers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Kiva is a must play if you are in Gulf Shores. Our group found the course to be in outstanding condition despite having heavy rain the day before. The staff was friendly and helpful, too.

The course is difficult, but playable if you avoid the green side bunkers. The sand is very soft and a high shot that finds the bunker will likely plug. I'm a decent golfer and needed 3 shots to get out of plugged lie in the face of a bunker. Be smart and avoid the sand.

Choose the tees to play from wisely (don't bite off more than you can chew), avoid the sand and enjoy the great conditions and you will have a great time at Kiva.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiva Dunes Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Kiva Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiva Dunes Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kiva Dunes Golf Club to your Saves list