We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Winds West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Winds West
Save
You added Island Winds West to your Saves list
407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Directly on the beach, can look out of the back window and see your umbrella and beach chairs. Left umbrella out over night, and it was fine. Room was a bit small and dated, but it was clean, and everything worked. The two elevators were fast, which is a big help when people are going out to the beach often. Two Bar-B-Q pits and picnic tables were provided. Can walk to many attractions, like the Hangout, Pink Pony, Souvenir City, Alvin's Island, Surf Style, Purple Octopus. Two excellent seafood restaurants, Bahama Bob's & DeSoto's are also within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belton Missouri
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The only reason I give this place 2 stars is because of the location. It is right off the beach and not very crowded as compared to other places near by. There are also some good shops Within walking distance. That being said, the rest of the place SUCKS!!!!! First off only one roll of toilet paper for each bathroom and they never came by to offer more or to switch out the towels like other places. They gave one trash bag and we had to ask for more. Half of the light bulbs don't even work in the place and the fans look like they are going to fly off the ceiling on low setting, we were scared to put them on the high setting. There was a leak on the 8th floor and all they offered for us or rooms above was a make shift apology, even though it ruined some people's things. I slept on the pullout couch "mattress" and I say "mattress" because all it was was a set of springs with a sheet over it. I have slept on many pull outs but this was by far the worst. I asked for a fold up cot and they were very rude about it and refused. There was sand in all of the beds as soon as we got there, even though the cleaning people had supposedly just been in there. The bathrooms were nasty also. Both tubs had mold in them and one of them constantly leaked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was more than happy with our stay at Island Winds West. I will definitely try to stay there again next time. The location is absolutely perfect and it was quiet and family friendly. Not a party type place which is important to me because I have young children. The realty company we used to rent the room was excellent and everything went smoothly. The unit was super clean, tastefully decorated and had a fully stocked kitchen with good appliances and everything I needed to prepare meals. The condo was probably my favorite part of our vacation. Our balcony faced the gulf and there were BBQ pits for grilling outside. There was also a gated kiddy pool which was awesome for our 3 yr old. There was a jet ski, parasailing, banana boat rental booth right in front of the hotel on the beach, so we had fun just sitting on the balcony watching all the activity of the jet skis and the parasailing. I was beyond pleased with this place. The lobby was clean and well kept and there were luggage racks and grocery carts available for easy transfer of all luggage and groceries from car to room. There was also a security guard on site every night which made me feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed at Island Winds West for several years. It is a very family friendly condo that is within walking distance of the "T" in Gulf Shores. The condo is very close to all the shops and restaurants and it is easy to get in and out of in traffic by car or to walk to the places.
We love the location and have even stayed in the same condo (372) for the past few years. It is an older condo but it has been well maintained and I am comfortable bringing my three children here to enjoy our vacation. Brett Robinson manages this condo and they were very helpful with any thing that we needed.
The only thing about this condo is that it is an older condo and so it does show some wear and tear on the outside balcony. It is right on the beach and of course the beach is beautiful. It seemed like the beach had more shells than normal (?) and it was rainy some days but we truly enjoyed our stay at Island Winds West.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Island Winds West condos. It was perfect for us. It was 4 adults & 1 child. Plenty of space, very clean, & friendly staff. Even with the weather being not as sunny as we hoped for we had a great time on the beautiful beach located right outside the condo. Also close to all surf shops & restaurants will def stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this complex is that it is right on the beach. The views are amazing! This was our second time staying here and we will probably find somewhere next time. The units are old and didn't smell very fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Once again we had an awesome vacation at your beautiful condo! We enjoyed the conveniences of the ocean only a few steps away and the cleanliness of the condo.The clean-up crew made a special visit to make sure everything was in order. Excellent service and friendliness of the owners themselves, rather than a management company. All the comforts we needed. Also the remodeling was awesome. Great time and will probably visit again as schedules permit.
We would recommend this condo for a romantic getaway or relaxing beach vacation or for families.
Larry and Mary

Room Tip: East end two bedroom units have more room and much larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Winds West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Gulf Shores, approx 2 blocks to the West of Hwy 59. Gulf front property in walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Winds West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.