We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elevators and pool are a joke. Never again will I stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seawind Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seawind Condominiums to your Saves list
Seawind Condominiums
401 East Beach Boulevard, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Russellville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elevators and pool are a joke. Never again will I stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently stayed a week at Seawind(7/8-7/14/13). I will say a couple of things. The condo(905) was absolutely gorgeous and the beach was very nice. However, I will never stay there again. There are TWO elevators for the entire campus(19 floors). It sometimes takes literally 30 mins to get up and down the building. Absolutely ridiculous. Please listen, it is very frustrating to say the least. Spend your money somewhere else. Secondly, the pool isn't any bigger than an average pool in someone's back yard. Which for one family is fine, but for 18-19 floors is pathetic. Whomever designed this building needs their head examined.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clarksville tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family an I stayed a week at this condominium complex the last week in June. We viewed the online pictures and decided this place looked nice even though it was a little more than we had wanted to spend at $1900 for the week. There were 5 adults and 1 child in our group. The condo size, furnishings and appliances were fine, no complaints. Had washer and dryer in condo, which was nice. The HVAC worked great so no temperature problems. The condos are right on the beach so easy access also right beside the sea and suds restaurant so walking access to dining out. The resort has a childrens play pool that had a lot of kids water features that were nice and an adult pool. Also there were ample charcoal grills by the pools and there were always some available so no problem. The condo is across the street from the waffle house so winner winner there (I love the waffle house) and maybe 1/4 mile from highway 59, the main highway into orange beach area so very accessible. So theres the good

Heres the not so great...

The pools are tiny. As a result they stay very crowded. Also there is no supervision so the kids end up in the kiddy pool area and the regular pool area with floats, toys and the lot. So if you're an adult wanting a lounging pool you won't find it here.

The beach stayed pretty packed, it is what is and we alway could find a spot no problem but there are aways at least 100 people around us at all times.

There were a lot of complaints I read before we booked regarding the slowness of the elevators. I did not completely have tis experience, but we planned ahead too; tried to get all our stuff moved in in one swoop as to not have to transverse the elevators 10 times at checkin. We used the stairs going down as this was quicker sometimes, also we were on the 10th floor, this may have been problematic if we ended up in the 20th floor. We always parked in front of the building and not on the 2nd and 3rd level of the parking garage so we got on the elevator on the ground floor. The folks 2nd and 3rd floors a lot of time couldn't get on cause the elevator was already full for them. Lastly when we were leaving we loaded the night before as not to fight everybody saturday morning.

The dumpsters are in front and by the main walking path so they smelled BAD, all the time and had lovely garbage juice running over the walkway to the cars

So theres the review, place was fine, would probably rent a house further down to avoid the crowds next time

and by the by

don't eat at bahama bobs no matter what anybody tells you, 2 hour wait to be seated, another hour for food and the shrimp was dirty and gritty and the crab legs had barnacles still in them which got in the meat when cracked. The fried pickle were very good though.

definitely eat at lamberts, one of the best country dinners I've ever had, huge portions fun atmosphere and they throw rolls to you. Well worth the wait (2 hours again, but then superfast service and very attentive)and reasonably priced.

And if you have kiddos go to the gulf zoo. Very small and intimate. The best zoo for kids I have been to. The bigger zoos are great but you walk around and look at the exhibits. Almost every exhibit in the gulf zoo is kid interactive. $10 too can't beat that. Go support them I would recommend them to anybody, your kids will love holding the baby kangaroo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My SIL and I lucked into this condo 2 weeks before we stayed there and were very happy with it. I do however feel that the master bath, living room furniture, bedding, TV's and carpets need updating, but we spent most of our time on the beach or doing other things, so it was not a problem for us. We had to wait for the elevator but no major issues. Picard Realty was very easy to work with and the location was great. Unfortunately it is not available for our travel time this year, but someone else will be able to enjoy it, instead.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stay in condo #1005 between 6/8/13 - 6/12/13. First major issue is the elevators. Only 2 and sometimes had to wait 10-15 minutes to get on one. Sometimes 1 would break and that really made a bad situation worse. Next the carpet was filthy and after 2 days Picard got someone to clean. Even though all carpets needed cleaning Picard would only approve Living Room and Master Bdrm. Even the Carpet Cleaning guy said not only did the carpets need cleaning but he thought they should be replaced. He also said the Tile floor should be cleaned even after we tried ourselves to do it. Master Bed was very hard. TVs need to be updated. Appliances were poorly cleaned on outside and really could used to be replaced. TV in kids room did not work. If it wasn't that it was Pet Friendly we would not have stayed here. Just a big disappointment for the money we paid. We will look elsewhere next time we come to this area. Pool is very small also, for such a large facility they should have built a bigger pool.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors in case you need to use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Tn
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here! The unit was so nasty and the Master Bathroom was gross. Of course the don't show a picture of this bathroom on their website. The unit has carpet and it was so nasty and worn we had to ask Picard Realty to send a carpet cleaning company to clean it why we were there. However, they would only clean the living room. The beds are like sleep on a rock. Believe me me you and your family we be very un-happy here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

BOTH OF THE ELEVATORS BROKE DOWN AT OUR STAY. There's only 2 elevators for such a large hotel. Horrible. We had to pull our luggage down 7 flights of stairs. The beach was nice and the location was alright. But needs better management and needs renovated.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at Seawind Condos #1805 in Gulf Shores.
We rented through ResortQuest, and the check in process was simple, even though it was at a separate location, which was not far away. Checking out was very easy since our room had keyless entry, therefore just needed to clean up and lock up to check out.
The condo was a 3 bedroom 2 bath, and my family of 4 split it with my sister's family of 4, and there was plenty of room for all. The condo was very clean and sufficiently stocked. The beds were a tad bit lumpy, but hey, you're on vacation, so no worries!
The elevator was never an issue for us, even being up on the 18th floor. Didn't have to wait long at all. Carts were hard to find though when checking in and out.
The location was great - close to great dining options and also a super Walmart within 5 miles to stock up on things for the condo. Gulf State Park and pier is less than 1 mile away (within walking or driving distance) and the pier was interesting to see the catch of the day, including a few sharks!
The kids really enjoyed looking for crabs at night, and plenty were to be found (and some of really good size!). We also visited Fort Morgan (about 20 min away) and everyone found that to be quite interesting.
The only negative thing I have to say about these condos is that the pool is EXTREMELY small. Too small for a building of that size. There is a nice workout facility though which we used daily.
This was my first visit to the Gulf Shores area, and my only disappointment with the location was that the sun did not set on the ocean, but instead set between buildings. Bummer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seawind Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawind Condominiums

Address: 401 East Beach Boulevard, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Seawind Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawind Condominiums Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seawind Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.