We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be best restaurant in Gulf Shores” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nolan's Restaurant and Lounge

Nolan's Restaurant and Lounge
1140 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
251-948-2111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 122 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nolan's has been serving the Alabama Gulf Coast for over 25 years. We offer fresh hand cut steaks, fresh local seafood, mediterranean dishes and LIVE ENETERTAINMENT six nights week. We have a beautiful Private Dining Room that can accomodate parties of up to 60 guets. Perfect for Rehearsal Dinners, Receptions, Reunions, Office Parties or any other social events. You may also enjoy dining on our beautiful screened in patio, overlooking the lagoon! We are open Monday - Saturday 5pm - until. Live Music begins nightly at 7:30. We look forward to serving you and your guests.
Helena, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“May be best restaurant in Gulf Shores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

High scale restaurant with prices to match. However, you will get impeccable service, great food and an enjoyable atmosphere. Not your typical "beach restaurant." Plan a special night, dress up a little and splurge.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    46
    20
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia Springs, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great Food, great service, great band and excellent atmosphere. Recommend this to those weekend vacationers looking for a romantic evening out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could Have Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We saved Nolan's for our last dinner which was also our anniversary because of the reviews. I opted for the prime rib and it was a letdown. Instead of being juicy cooked at medium rare, it was a bit dry, grainy and not much taste. The desert was very good but I went for the prime rib. Service was good except when it came time to pay. Waited 10 minutes for someone to take the check, then on their return dropped my card on the floor. Had it not been for another waitress picking it up and giving it to me, I could have looked quite awhile for my card. Prices seemed a little high for the quality we received. We felt letdown by the whole experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talking Rock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They Didn't Want Our Business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

So we went there due to the good ratings. It was a Monday evening in the 6:30 range. Good group in the bar and the tables in the restaurant were full but lots of unused sections. We got our alarm with notice that the wait would be 10-15 minutes. So we wait and time runs. One party goes in = OK. Then after a bit a party of six walks in and are escorted to a table before us. We are a bit dumbfounded and ask about the deal. We are told they called in and were granted a quick seating. We would be seated in about 15 minutes. Perhaps a great place to eat BUT we felt others money was more valued and we left for another place where we were seated in 10 minutes. Sorry but the explanation along with the Monday night not so busy place just didn't add up.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steaks in Gulf Shores/Orange Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have lived in Gulf Shores for 20+ years and when we want a good steak, we always go to Nolan's. Nolan's has been around GS for a long time. They use to be on the beach highway but after hurricane Ivan, were forced to relocate. They are now in Sawgrass Landing on Hwy. 59 in GS. The food is excellent-delicious seafood and steaks. If you are really hungry, try their 16oz. steer butt. The steaks are prepared perfectly. The dining room is elegant and somewhat partitioned with half walls. They have a nice lounge to sit and enjoy a cocktail and occasionally have live music. They have an extensive wine list also. Prices are in line for a good steak and seafood restaurant. You won't go wrong eating here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nolan's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Nolan's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nolan's Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.