We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach time fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf State Park

Gulf State Park
20115 State Hwy. 135, Gulf Shores, AL
251-948-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to numerous scenic dunes, lakes and beaches.
Eunice, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beach time fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very clean, and not too far from the center of town. Nice boardwalk to get to the beach, with a shower to rinse off before getting in your car. Also had a concession stand, but we didn't eat at the beach, but it was very convenient.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    66
    19
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

unless you kayak, fish or zip line... not too much to do here but drive thru to say you did it. its okay, just lots of trees to see, marsh land and watch people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unexpected perks at a state park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We traveled to Orange Beach to camp for my daughter's fortieth birthday. This was her hearts desire to include her three sons on her birthday plans to rough it. We camped across the street from them in our recently acquired camper trailer. The best thing about this was the remodel that took place about four years ago. Did you dream that bath and shower facilities would be well lit and bathed in beautiful tile? I had camped as a young teen at other state parks and remembered dark bathrooms that looked like spiders and mold were lurking everywhere.
For thirty five dollars are so we had the hook up with electricity, sewerage, a great pad with a picnic table and bbq grill area. It was breezy and though we are from La and were prepared for mosquitos there were hardly any. We did get to witness lightning bugs, which my grandsons had never seen. The pool and splash pool were incredible. Clean and newly designed, large and refreshing. The golf course looked amazing and I am not aware if fees are included in your night's stay but I would suspect everything is free. There are nature and bike trails that include observing wild animals. There is a boat launch which is very nice and the park is right next to a fresh water lake which can take you out to connections to the gulf. Best of all is the beach area reserved for campers. They used to have a five dollar charge which is still on the sign but that has been done away with. There are washers and dryers in the area that you can use for a small charge I am sure, didn't do laundry in our three days there. Right outside of the park is a large Wal-mart and McDonalds which is great for breakfast if your looking to take it easy. Lots of great places to dine along the coast if your looking to enjoy a night away from the camp. Shopping for souvenirs close by as well.
We greatly enjoyed our time away. Part of this great find is finding out that there are facilities that will house your camper and deliver it to the park when you have reservations and are headed that way. Now that really takes the work out of camping!
Ok, now for the best part. For all of you who rather a luxurious adventure the cottages available are what you need to check out. They are like the pages of Southern Living Magazine. Premium bedding, plush sheets, blankets and coverlets in three beautiful suites with private baths for each for less than 1500. a week. Under the cottage, which is on piers, you have picnic tables and equipment to boil seafood. You have an open porch and a screened porch with a pier that goes out into the lake. I assume that your boat can be kept near the pier on your private dock. With microwave, complete kitchen with dishes and utensils, tv, cable, etc. this package is nothing short of wonderful! You really need to check this out and more! Hope you go to the website to view the wonders available. Blessings from this Louisiana woman who had a great time in Alabama, again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,ga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a wonderful visit. We will be back the parking was easy the weather was beautiful and we have a great day. My daughter and her friend really enjoyed the park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gulf State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed taking pictures on the beach and just walking on the beach collecting seashells. We liked splashing around in the water. the grandchildren loved playing in the sand and building sand castles. This was the first time they had been to the beach and they weren't disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.