We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf State Park

Gulf State Park
20115 State Hwy. 135, Gulf Shores, AL
251-948-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to numerous scenic dunes, lakes and beaches.
Huntsville, AL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fall visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Gulf State Park during October in our new motor home. There were very few people there.
The park is very well maintained and has recovered from the hurricanes and wild fires.
We were impressed with the laundry facilities and the pool.
We will be back as often as we can.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    66
    19
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great campground and we will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our first RV trip to Gulf Shores and we were so pleasantly surprised and happy with our stay location. There is so much that the park offers that you cannot do it all. Although the park has so many campground hookup sites, it is so laid back & sites offer space twice what most do. We'll recommend it to others and will be sure to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Camping and Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Cannot wait to go back, they were super friendly and it was beautiful there. We wanted to bring the camper back, there are pull through and back in sites as well as sites on the water. Reservations are welcomed. The cabins are great and on the water. Really reasonable and have 1,2 or 3 bedrooms.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Camp in the primitive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went camping here for a couple days in October. We had a great stay. We ended up staying in the main camping lot (with all the RV's) with our tent. We got full electric and water that way. Next time when we come we will camp in the primitive area for only $16 if I remember correctly (compared to $30). The buildings were very nice and well kept. The laundry facility was incredibly clean, the pool was very nice. The pool was only about 4 feet deep. Great I'm sure for families, we were hoping for a bit deeper. But the pool was clean and again the buildings were great. They have WI-FI up by the nature center and the pool. When you stay camping you get into the state park beach for free with your pass. About a 5 minute drive to the beach. The beach was beautiful, high waves when we were there but so much fun! Not any people at the beach compared to Panama City Beach. Went to the beach a couple mornings in a row, walked the beach and sat in the pavilion. The pavilion that overlooks the ocean is great! I got WI-FI as I was sitting in there as well. Overall great stay and we will be returning in the primitive sites!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location and Facilities and Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've stayed at Gulf State Park campground a number of times now, always for the purpose of enjoying the beaches in the park.

The campground is very large. It has a pool, tennis courts, nature center, boat rentals and store. The restrooms are very clean and great for showering. There are lakeside sites, but few with shade. Sites have full hook ups, and many are pull-thru.

It's about a half mile to the beach pavilion, so you need a vehicle to drive there. The beach is long and wide. The beach pavilion is spotless including the restrooms and showers. We usually park near the boardwalk furthest from the entrance for the easiest walk to the beach, and the less crowded areas. In season (summer) the pavilion has a stand with drinks and ice cream. The beach pavilion can accommodate groups (reservations required). Often on Saturdays, late in the afternoon, a handful of weddings take place on the beach.

There is a $5 admission per vehicle at the beach pavilion. It's free for those staying in the campground. The campground prices are on the high side for a state park - but wee worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.