We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overall good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked a queen deluxe room and I was very pleased with the room. It was spacious and very clean. Staff was mostly friendly, with the exception of one night clerk our last night there. The pool is extremely small and one group that was staying at the hotel monopolized the pool the entire time we were there so no one else got to use it. The same group's charter bus kept blocking the view of the street and made it hard to pull out of the parking lot. (not really the hotels fault, but the manager could have spoken with the bus driver and didn't). The hotel is a little further from the beach then I thought, but again, not the hotels fault, I should have researched better before booking. I was overall pleased with the room and the value for my money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family stayed here for a weekend in late June. The price was lower than the beach front hotels. Although it was a little inconvenient having to drive to beach, it was just a short trip away. The rooms were clean and spacious. The sink was located inside the bathroom unlike most hotels. That was a little inconvenient for us. Also the shower drained slowly. Staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was great offering pancakes and eggs along with the usual offerings (bagels, muffins, cereals, etc.). Our GPS had trouble finding when we used the address, but the iPhone had no problem showing us the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear C M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. I am delighted with your positive comments about our rooms, staff and breakfast served. However, it is regrettable to learn that the set up of our bathrooms did not work for you. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused especially with the shower drain. Your comments are highly appreciated and I am confident that our management will look into this and make the appropriate fix in a timely manner.

I hope that you give us another chance to provide you with a more satisfying stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I am a military veteran with a service dog. Check in was no problem (told them service dog)until coming in with the dog. Then in front of other customers and across the room they demanded a certificate! Uuhhhmmm not legal!! Finally we went to our room. Next morning when we went for breakfast, the manager asked "what are you doing here?"
Rude and disrespectful! !! We left without breakfast. Will never stay here again and will be calling ADA.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Debbie W,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am very sorry the level of service you received greatly affected your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had an issue with our room. The desk employee made promises but management was unresponsive. Issue was not resolved. Would not recommend. After our bad experience made several attempts to contact management but the manager was never on site. Not a good experience at all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Scott A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

One night in summer ...while moving my Mom ...and it did not go well.
First my TV didn't work because it was the only one In the hotel not changed out.
Very confused by hot/cold levers in shower which are in reverse.
Desk attendant did not handle either well.
2 elevators operate independently resulting in long waits for each use.
Breakfast was skipped because of lines way out the door and no seating at all.
Pool is very small!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear rllbol,

Thank you for writing a review. It is regrettable that certain aspects of your stay were a let down, in particular the size of the pool, room amenities, and level of service received. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Please know that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests. We would follow up your concerns to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction. Should your future travels bring you back to the area, we hope to serve you again when you can enjoy all the hotel amenities.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the first weekend of summer. Average hotel with an average breakfast offering. Pool was extremely small. Night clerk was rude and needs additional training. Don't break a leg to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Traveler19712014,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. It is truly regrettable that our pool facility and the level of service you have received from our staff were not able to meet your expectations. I appreciate your comments including that of our rooms and breakfast. Rest assured that we will use them to take the actions needed to provide you and other guests with an exceptional hotel experience.

I hope you give us another chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a Holiday Inn Express so my rating is with those expectations so not expecting anything fancy. We were staying with our team and had advanced reservations which they thankfully held because arrived after midnight to a sold out hotel and was able to quickly get in our room. Room was very clean, beds were surprisingly comfortable with plenty of pillows, and great water pressure in the shower. The free breakfast in the morning was probably the best of the free breakfast hotels and it was open at 6:30 (many aren't open till 7 on weekends) which allowed us to eat before leaving for the tournament. The pool and hot tub were just the standard for these hotels, but were also clean. There was nothing great about the staff...not overly friendly, welcoming or warm, but not rude either...maybe indifferent. It was just over a mile straight shot to the public beach parking next to the hangout. I wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Address: 160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for Gulf Shores best lodging value ends here! The sugar white sands of Gulf Shores is only moments away from the areas newest hotel, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Gulf Shores, AL. Our promise to you is a great room with great service and incomparable value. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores is sure to have a room or suite to meet your needs. Let us be your host to a great getaway! Our property is conveniently located in the heart of all the main attractions and world renowned restaurants that make Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, the premier vacation destination in southern Alabama: Waterville USA, Alligator Alley, Tanger Outlet Center, The Track, Adventure Island, Lambert's Cafe, The Hangout, Adventure Island and the Gulf Coast Zoo just to name a few! If you decide to take a break from the beach, we invite you to take advantage numerous championship golf courses and outstanding charter fishing opportunities. Travelers are encouraged to spend some time at the areas best shopping complex, Tanger Outlet Mall. The kids are sure to enjoy Waterville Waterpark and the go-karts at the Track Recreational Center. Companies like BF Goodrich and Vulcan Materials Company anchor a vibrant business community. Great Gulf Shores shopping, restaurants and entertainment reside only a few footsteps from our front door. We welcome you to experience all that the great coastal community of Gulf Shores, Alabama has to offer. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.