We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Gulf Shores
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Just a mile or so from a public access to the beach. Breakfast was good they have a pancake "printer" that makes 2 pancakes in about a minute. Bacon and biscuits & sausage gravy. Saw a Jacuzzi room with a king - very spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
37
27
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everyone was really nice. The rooms were very clean and so was the entire hotel. Only problem was with the tub there should have been something on the floor of the tub because it had an incline and it was hard to not slip. Told the management when we checked out and was sent a very nice email saying they would take care of it and give me a discount next time I stayed. This is the perfect place to stay if your going to a concert at the Wharf. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room is good here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We made reservations for three nights. Unfortunately, we had to cancel due to illness. We cancelled in advance of our reservations. We have been charged for all three nights. We have called the manager three times and he/she has not returned our calls. Things happen in life and obviously greed is what they represent in Gulf Shores. We have never been there and with this experience don't recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Gloridee,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly customer service, the room were very clean and the location was great, just 1.4 miles from the public beaches.
Excellent selection of items in the breakfast menu( hot continental menu).
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Benning GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came to the Gulf Shores on a whim, having never been to the area before. The hotel is a little difficult to find, but I actually enjoyed the seclusion behind the bank off of the main strip. The gentleman that checked us in (I think his name was Mark- bearded gentleman) was pleasant, fast and very friendly. He definitely has that wonderful southern charm that instantly makes you feel at home. Our room was on the fourth floor and it was huge (room 416) High ceilings, a separate sitting area with tv, and the area near the beds had another tv and chair, along with a desk. The beds were super comfortable, with soft and firm pillows, a nice choice. The breakfast was great, plenty to choose from, not your stereotypical continental breakfast of just juice, pastries and cold cereal. We had the option of boiled or scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes, cereals, and a host if pastries. The OJ leaves something to be desired, very watered down, but the coffee was fresh. Overall, this hotel left a positive mark on us and we will return there in a few weeks. I stay at a lot of hotels throughout the year (at least twice a month) and this Holiday Inn has definitely made this priority club member one very happy guest!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator, which is a bit annoying. I would ask for a room a little further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Next time you plan on coming to the area feel free to call and I will make your reservations personally! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were greeted by friendly staff, who promptly checked us in. The elevators were quiet and very smooth, which is a big plus for someone, like me, who hates them. The rooms were clean, and smelled great. They were spacious enough, and had a refrigerator and microwave in there, which came in handy. The bath had hot water, only down fall was the shower had too little pressure. It took me awhile to wash my hair out. Housekeeping was prompt everyday, and cleaned our rooms very well. Only one mile from the beautiful sunny beaches, and right off the Parkway, this hotel was a very good deal! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We opted for two queens room. We had 3 children with us, and this came in handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived and did not have reservations. Jenny was very pleasant while finding us a room. The hotel was clean and the room was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay!! Housekeeping was also helpful. This hotel was very close to the beach and other attractions. I would stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Address: 160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for Gulf Shores best lodging value ends here! The sugar white sands of Gulf Shores is only moments away from the areas newest hotel, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Gulf Shores, AL. Our promise to you is a great room with great service and incomparable value. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores is sure to have a room or suite to meet your needs. Let us be your host to a great getaway! Our property is conveniently located in the heart of all the main attractions and world renowned restaurants that make Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, the premier vacation destination in southern Alabama: Waterville USA, Alligator Alley, Tanger Outlet Center, The Track, Adventure Island, Lambert's Cafe, The Hangout, Adventure Island and the Gulf Coast Zoo just to name a few! If you decide to take a break from the beach, we invite you to take advantage numerous championship golf courses and outstanding charter fishing opportunities. Travelers are encouraged to spend some time at the areas best shopping complex, Tanger Outlet Mall. The kids are sure to enjoy Waterville Waterpark and the go-karts at the Track Recreational Center. Companies like BF Goodrich and Vulcan Materials Company anchor a vibrant business community. Great Gulf Shores shopping, restaurants and entertainment reside only a few footsteps from our front door. We welcome you to experience all that the great coastal community of Gulf Shores, Alabama has to offer. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.