We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We made reservations for three nights. Unfortunately, we had to cancel due to illness. We cancelled in advance of our reservations. We have been charged for all three nights. We have called the manager three times and he/she has not returned our calls. Things happen in life and obviously greed is what they represent in Gulf Shores. We have never been there and with this experience don't recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Gloridee,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    21
    7
    14
See reviews for
50
40
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly customer service, the room were very clean and the location was great, just 1.4 miles from the public beaches.
Excellent selection of items in the breakfast menu( hot continental menu).
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Benning GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came to the Gulf Shores on a whim, having never been to the area before. The hotel is a little difficult to find, but I actually enjoyed the seclusion behind the bank off of the main strip. The gentleman that checked us in (I think his name was Mark- bearded gentleman) was pleasant, fast and very friendly. He definitely has that wonderful southern charm that instantly makes you feel at home. Our room was on the fourth floor and it was huge (room 416) High ceilings, a separate sitting area with tv, and the area near the beds had another tv and chair, along with a desk. The beds were super comfortable, with soft and firm pillows, a nice choice. The breakfast was great, plenty to choose from, not your stereotypical continental breakfast of just juice, pastries and cold cereal. We had the option of boiled or scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes, cereals, and a host if pastries. The OJ leaves something to be desired, very watered down, but the coffee was fresh. Overall, this hotel left a positive mark on us and we will return there in a few weeks. I stay at a lot of hotels throughout the year (at least twice a month) and this Holiday Inn has definitely made this priority club member one very happy guest!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator, which is a bit annoying. I would ask for a room a little further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Next time you plan on coming to the area feel free to call and I will make your reservations personally! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were greeted by friendly staff, who promptly checked us in. The elevators were quiet and very smooth, which is a big plus for someone, like me, who hates them. The rooms were clean, and smelled great. They were spacious enough, and had a refrigerator and microwave in there, which came in handy. The bath had hot water, only down fall was the shower had too little pressure. It took me awhile to wash my hair out. Housekeeping was prompt everyday, and cleaned our rooms very well. Only one mile from the beautiful sunny beaches, and right off the Parkway, this hotel was a very good deal! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We opted for two queens room. We had 3 children with us, and this came in handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived and did not have reservations. Jenny was very pleasant while finding us a room. The hotel was clean and the room was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay!! Housekeeping was also helpful. This hotel was very close to the beach and other attractions. I would stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
410 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The tv service was horrible. It is now on dish or something and you could get some channels a liIt would come in and out no matter what they tried. Orange juice was horrible in the morning. I do not know if they were trying to save money or what but it was nothing but water. Pancake machine did not work well either. The room temperature really could not be regulated well either. Must have hit this place at a bad time. Also, asked for menus at the front desk and they do not have them so really did not know what was out there to eat. I do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I just wanted to extend to you my deepest apologies regarding the issues you experienced during your stay last week. We, here at the Holiday inn of Gulf Shores, pride ourselves on our customer service and hospitable staff. We strive to provide a comfortable and peaceful setting for the frequent traveler, and can certainly understand how experiencing the issues you have endured while at our property can leave you with a negative opinion.

Next time you plan on coming to the area, please contact me directly and I will personally handle all your accommodation needs to insure the highest level of service is expedited, as well a special discounted rate. If you would like to speak with me further about this matter please feel free to contact me directly at any time. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our first stop on a trip across the country. I hope are this lucky with all our accomadations. Not my first choice but I'm glad it eneded up being my final, as it was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful. What more can a traveler ask for?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Address: 160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for Gulf Shores best lodging value ends here! The sugar white sands of Gulf Shores is only moments away from the areas newest hotel, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Gulf Shores, AL. Our promise to you is a great room with great service and incomparable value. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores is sure to have a room or suite to meet your needs. Let us be your host to a great getaway! Our property is conveniently located in the heart of all the main attractions and world renowned restaurants that make Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, the premier vacation destination in southern Alabama: Waterville USA, Alligator Alley, Tanger Outlet Center, The Track, Adventure Island, Lambert's Cafe, The Hangout, Adventure Island and the Gulf Coast Zoo just to name a few! If you decide to take a break from the beach, we invite you to take advantage numerous championship golf courses and outstanding charter fishing opportunities. Travelers are encouraged to spend some time at the areas best shopping complex, Tanger Outlet Mall. The kids are sure to enjoy Waterville Waterpark and the go-karts at the Track Recreational Center. Companies like BF Goodrich and Vulcan Materials Company anchor a vibrant business community. Great Gulf Shores shopping, restaurants and entertainment reside only a few footsteps from our front door. We welcome you to experience all that the great coastal community of Gulf Shores, Alabama has to offer. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.