We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family in the SUN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Shores

Surfside Shores
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfside Shores
Save
You added Surfside Shores to your Saves list
969 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Springfield, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family in the SUN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our family of four in the last years has turned into a family of 6 (two in-laws and two precious grandchildren)...so we had to find a condo with 3 bedrooms and 3 baths plus somewhere that would rent from Thursday to Thursday. Surfside Shores was the perfect spot. The room we rented had two master bedrooms with views of the ocean and a kitchen that was fully equipped. Floors in the kitchen/living area were tile, we mopped over them with bleach wipes so the kids were able to crawl around. The building was very well kept. There were two large pools and two kiddy pools. The beach was busy but did not feel like we were on top of everybody else enjoying the sun. We were able to leave our umbrella and chairs on the beach at night so we did not have to make two trips every day to the beach to take everything. Our stay was over the 4th of July and the fireworks were super! Condo is near lots of good restaurants and grocery stores. Only a few negatives...the sliding doors going onto the balcony were broken and the rail on the balcony did not seem to be strong enough to handle very much weight, bathrooms could have been a little cleaner. We had a great time and plan on returning in the next few years.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have been in Gulf Shore many times and love it every time, we had a great time this time as well but not because of the place we stayed at. First time we stayed here. and last time. The first thing we did was walk out to the balcony. Well be careful, Room 1505, the railing was so loose I was afraid one of the kids was going to fall off !!! We then looked down at the pool below us, to notice a big stain in the center of the pool. But that's not all, the balcony itself, has a door that's all rusted and a beach chair that's all rusted ! SOOO GROSS ! we then looked around the condo, some was ok, but the masterbath, needed major caucking around bathtub. It didn't even a door to close when you used the bathroom , never seen that before. In the kitchen, the light over the stove didn't work, the biggest pan they had was a one person 6 inch frying pan, the microwave had different handle colors on it, appearanlty they had broken so in order not to replace it they stuck some cheap handles on it . Mismatched plates and forks. Another small pan with the enamel complete scratched off, not usable at all. We made the best of it . The said thing is when I called to make this reservation with YOUNGS SUNCOAST , I told them that I had stayed at Lighthouse condos before and wanted something similar to those cuz they were sold out....they said this was like that a little older ......SO UNTRUE......SO DONT EVER USE THEM EITHER, I called them and they had KELLIE, their manager talk to me , she said she would go over there and check on it and call me back , here we are 24 hrs later , haven't heard a thing ! TERRIBLE PLACE AND TERRIBLE MANAGEMENT COMPANY ........DONT USE EITHER ONE !!!!I I HAVE PICTURES IF ANYONE WANTS TO SEE THEM ......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have stayed at Surf Side Shores every year since October 2006 to attend the Gulf Shores Shrimp Festival.
Surf Side Shores is only 6 stories high and very family oriented. Onsite grills are available for outside cooking.
The view from the porch is excellent. Landscaping and pools are always maintained and the gulf view is spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We have spent every July 4th. week for the past six or seven years at Surf Side Shores. It is a great family beach destination. Surf Side is right on the beach with the pools opening up to the beach. This is great for the kids that like to run back and forth. The place is reasonably priced, nice privately owned condos. We always stay in one of the same units - the ones rented and maintained by Gulf Shores Rentals. Highly recommend it as a beach destination.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Surfside Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Shores

Address: 969 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 279
Also Known As:
Surfside Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.