We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Morgan Historic Site

Fort Morgan Historic Site
51 Highway 180 West, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
251-540-7125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Gulf Shores
Type: Historic Sites, Parks
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fort built in the early 1800s to guard the entrance to Mobile Bay.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting and worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We like history, so this was fun and the location right at the mouth of Mobile Bay makes it pretty to see

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    107
    34
    12
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tyler
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been gong to Fort Morgan for almost 50 years now and find it as fascinating now as i did a young girl exploring it. It's been developed much more over the years with it's rich history captured and passed on to children still. The museum and gift shop is worth the time to visit. I've found many unexpected treasures in the shop, including identification guides for various marine life and coastal Christmas ornaments. This is my favorite site in lower Alabama.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I am the "tour coordinator" for our group (traveling with my husband and two teenage daughters, and my sisters, their husbands and teenage sons and daughters) and this was on our list of things to do when recently vacationing in Gulf Shores. I wasn't sure if my daughters were going to enjoy this, but knew for sure my nephews and our husbands would. Turns out the entire group enjoyed this historical visit and really enjoyed touring the underground tunnels at Fort Morgan. Well worth the price of admission!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ferry Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This review is not on the historical site itself just the ferry ride to Dauphin Isl. Here's the deal pickle, Its 35 min long (nice amt of time) Things practical parents need to be aware of; There is no shade or place to sit. It is totally worth it to pay the fee to bring your car. We walked on and did not bring the car.....mistake since most things (shops, cafes,) are about 3 miles away. Waaaaay to far to walk w/ kids. Be aware that there are 2 ferry and sometimes only 1 is running so when you check the times they pick up and let off be sure you are checking the ferry that is actually working at the time. It changes and no one tells you ;) There is a sweet sweet local man on the Isl that runs the Crabby Cabby. We were so thankful for him driving us around it is only 1$ per adult (pls tip him though) but he is not available at all times.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OMG! What a wonderful place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our family toured the Civil War fort while on vacation to Orange Beach. We took the candlelight tour which had people in era attire leading it. We loved it. Very informative of how the fort has been used even during the World Wars. If you plan on going I suggest reading the book by Al Lacy " A Heart Divided". It is very well written and will give you more historical insight to things that went on in the fort during the Civil War. There is a good museum on site and is worth the time to see. We also had the privilege of seeing them fire one of the canons that was in the fort.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Morgan Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Morgan Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Morgan Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.