We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous beach, convenient amenities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Shores Plantation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gulf Shores Plantation to your Saves list
Gulf Shores Plantation
Highway 180 West, Fort Morgan Pkwy, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHTS in 2015
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Midlothian, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, convenient amenities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Gulf Shores Plantation in the Dunes bldg, room 5808. Condo is cozy but very nice, clean and well stocked. We had a great view of the beach & pools. Water/beach area was wonderful. It was busy on Sunday but much less crowded during the week. Pools weren't that crowded either. There was also a store that had Starbucks coffee, sandwiches, smoothies and adult beverages. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    69
    35
    21
    14
See reviews for
117
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family always has a great experience every time we come here. They have beautiful beaches, plenty of pools to choose from, and I loved that we now have parasail and jet skis offered there. You don't have to go up town with all of the hassle. The staff is very friendly as always, and they make your stay worth while.

Room Tip: I chose a room that was convenient for my family. I had a baby so I didn't want to be on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The property is nice and there is plenty for the kids to do. I enjoy the beach at this property because it stays pretty shallow so you don't have to worry about the general drop off you get at most beaches and with kids that is a very good thing. There are 6 pools so there is plenty to keep the kids entertained. The property could use some work. The general areas are showing lots of wear and need updating terribly. Our unit was fairly nice. It was a little dirty upon check in though. There was hair in the shower and it looked like it wasn't cleaned as well as it should have been. Other than updating and cleanliness it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The only thing the unit lacked was a better beach view. 6109 was a first floor unit that had direct access to the pool area. The unit was clean and nicely decorated.

We have been staying here for a girls retreat since 2007. We are never disappointed with the Gulf Shores Plantation. Be sure to go to the little cafe and coffee shop. They serve Starbucks!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamou, Louisiana
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is an older property but well maintained. A little out of the way from the main strip of Gulf Shores. Reasonably priced. Our unit was well maintained. Steps from the beach. Satisfied, but can only rate it as average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in room 1133. The room is located on the ground level. It's a 2br/2bath condo with a full kitchen and a porch. It is located between 4 pools and between 2 boardwalks to the beach. The property is older but nice and clean. We chose to stay here to get away from the traffic in Gulf Shores and it's great. There are 5 pools, it's on the beach, tennis courts, putting green, fitness center, grills, racquet ball, horse shoe pits, basketball court, shuffleboard and Kiva Dunes golf course is just across the parking lot! The only need to leave was to go get groceries. We had 3 adults and 4 kids and we loved it here!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

What we encountered during our stay - June 7 - June 14, 2014
toilets were not clean – poop still in them, towels not clean had to wash them before use, utensils had food on them had to wash before use

Room Tip: the dishes were not clean – had to wash before use, the mats on the table were very dirty and not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Address: Highway 180 West, Fort Morgan Pkwy, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Gulf Shores Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Shores Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.