We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Shores Plantation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gulf Shores Plantation to your Saves list
Gulf Shores Plantation
Highway 180 West, Fort Morgan Pkwy, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
White Christmas Special
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Alamo, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gulf Shores Plantation June 1st through the 6th. It was very enjoyable. We had a spectacular view from the 8th floor. Our room was a studio room so we were packed in pretty tight. It said sleeps 3-6 and there was 6 of us. Next time I will definitely get a bigger room, but we made the best of it. It's right on the beach. Very clean. Nice pools and hot tubs. Not too crowded beaches. Only down fall to me was the 13 mile drive back and fourth to town where most of the activities are. Other than that everything was superb. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    69
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
115
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a great, affordable place to stay! Perfect for my large family. Plenty of pools for all the guests, and the beach is great! Away from the crowds. Rooms are comfortable and well kept. It is an older place, no spa etc... but if you are looking for a nice, affordable, family friendly place, the Plantation is for you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family and I spent a week at the Gulf Shores Plantation and had a wonderful vacation. Being located in Fort Morgan it was a bit of a drive, however it was well worth it as the beaches were not as crowded as they are in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores. My children really enjoyed the large outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool and hot tub. My sisters and I enjoyed the daiquiri bar next door! Although the facility is older, our unit was very nice and we were highly pleased with everything. If traveling with children, be sure to bring nets and flashlights because they will have a blast catching crabs after dark!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuQuoin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice condo, friendly staff, clean facilities, access to Gulf Shoes far enough away to enjoy a nice relaxing scenic drive. The roads are very well maintained . Hot tubs and pools are kept exceedingly clean and easily accessible for guest, gym and indoor pool are well equip. Parking lots are well marked and patrol by security staff, staff was very courteous and outgoing, offered assistance whenever needed!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Gulf Shore Plantation through from April 26th - May 1st. We had no issues with staff while we were checking in and they were very pleasant and got us in and out very quickly. They offer free dvd rentals like a redbox type machine but we never used it.

The condo itself is getting pretty dated and old but for the price we payed it was well worth it. The only problem we had was the windows didn't seal to well and you got that horrible whistling noise, but we cracked the windows and all was fine. Who doesn't have the windows open at the beach anyways. We stayed in room 1333 which had the best view of the ocean by far of any room that was not directly facing the water. The bathrooms were fine and hot water lasted long enough for our entire group to shower. Going in April was great as to there were hardly any people here, it seemed like everyone could have a pool to themselves. The condo was clean when we arrived and had no issues with any of the appliances, or electronics. I would definatly recommend this place to anyone on a budget.

This complex is on the outskirts of Gulf Shores closer to the Fort Morgan area, and it takes about 10 to 15 minutes to get back into town. No this before you decide on staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed in unit 2111 this past weekend. There were some good things--modern kitchen, pretty well stocked; not too noisy; within walking distance of the beach; plenty of parking. However, for the price we payed, there were enough negatives that I don't think it was really worth the price.
The main complaint is the deception over the the "gulf view." We specifically asked what that meant/how good the view really was, and we were told that the following was the balcony view: http://www.gulf-sands.com/properties/NetGSPbeach.jpg. However, when we actually got there, the following was the real "view": https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/p480x480/149084_10101300393782301_758254957_n.jpg. I realize that "gulf view" does not equal beach front view, but since we specifically asked and were shown a picture that implied a beach front view, I felt like we were cheated.
Also, the screen door to the balcony was broken, and we found a HUGE cock roach inside the unit. Finally, the internet quality was very slow/poor, and when we called to ask about it, the girl we talked to said to call the main office in the morning (was no help at all) and then hung up on us.

So, all in all, I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The resort is very clean. There is a great golf course onsite and even better one just a few miles away ("Peninsula"). We have 3 children (8,6,3) and they loved all the activities they could do (tennis, basketball, shuffle board). The only disappointment was that the 6 outdoor pools are NOT heated. You would think for spring break they could heat at least one... So, everyone was cramped in one small indoor pool, which was like a zoo! But eventually it was warm enough to swim in Gulf of Mexico.
The location is great!!! You are far away from all the noise and traffic, etc. The beach is absolutely clean private and safe. Just few miles away you can visit Fort Morgan. Or you can take a ferry to Foley Island and then drive to Mobile to see USS Alabama Battleship.
There is a great restaurant on golf course and few others nearby , and the onsite cafe brews Starbucks. We live in Chicagoland and the privacy and relaxing atmosphere of this resort was exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: All the units have different furnishings, and updates. Make sure you see the pictures before you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Address: Highway 180 West, Fort Morgan Pkwy, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Gulf Shores Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Shores Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.