We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Shores Plantation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Shores Plantation
Save
You added Gulf Shores Plantation to your Saves list
Highway 180 West, Fort Morgan Pkwy, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
White Christmas Special
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I loved the beach front , sandy beaches and coffee shop. The resort is 10miles from shopping,dining and bars. Felt like we had to do a lot of driving . The resort is dated but clean . We rented from a private party and the condo is in need of new furnishing

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    69
    35
    20
    14
See reviews for
115
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am writing this review from Plantation Dunes Unit 5603. It was advertised on another vacation rental site as a 1 bedroom luxury condo. I am very puzzled by the reviews on that site which say this place is clean and comfortable. First of all, the ad is deceptive. This is definitely not a 1 bedroom. It's one small room. Period. It's smaller than many motel rooms I've booked, so it should be listed as an efficiency at best. It's also in poor condition, from the greasy stove and oven to the stained towels and torn/stained blankets. I slept on top of the bed the first night and went to Walmart the next day to shop, even though I'm on a tight budget. I bought a blanket and a few dish towels that I will take with me. I called the owner, but she wasn't responsive to my complaints. I rented this dumpy room for an entire month so I'm trying to make the best of it. At least I haven't seen any more cockroaches since I sprayed the baseboard, although it took a few days to get rid of them. There's also a bad stain (rust? mold?) on the bathroom floor. The sliding glass door was difficult to move and it squeaked loudly. After getting some hints online, I used baby oil to clean the track (yuck!) which seemed to do the trick. February is off-season and I guess some owners choose this time to do renovations so I've been listening to a lot of hammering and drilling which often begins early in the morning. However, some nights I've heard people talking, even snoring (yes, I am not joking) so the walls must be paper thin. The a/c vent in the louvre closet runs through the building, so you can sometimes smell what your neighbor is cooking or smoking. One night my entire room smelled like very strong chili. Another night there was such a stench in my room that I left the building. Someone told me one of the snowbirds likes to cook chitlins. I don't even want to know what they are. I only know I had to shampoo twice! So, why did I give this 2 stars? First of all, the beach is gorgeous and clean. Second, the people are very kind and friendly here. I also feel safe because the security guards check the building and parking lot regularly. Speaking of safety, since I arrived, there have been 2 fire emergencies in the building. When an alarm goes off, there's a very loud announcement from the speaker in the ceiling to evacuate the building. One was at 9AM on a Sunday and the other was at 6:30AM on Thurs. Elevators are disabled during an alarm so you need to walk down 6 flights of steps. I can't confirm this, but I was told the first was a faulty microwave that burned someone's breakfast (probably as rusted inside as mine) and the second was a fire in the a/c wiring. Some people I meet have been coming here for 20 years, so I guess we all have different experiences or expectations. I'm really not that fussy, but this would be one of the worst places I've rented in a long time if it were not for the nice people I've met and the white sandy beach. When the room is quiet very late at night (if nobody is snoring loudly or moving furniture) the pounding of the surf on the shore is a soothing sound and very spiritual.

Room Tip: Since I rented from a private owner, it would be unfair to rate all the rooms or the service. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This a a well kept Resort operated by Mandoki Hospitality. It is family oriented and most units overlook the Gulf of Mexico. I would recommend staying here for a very relaxing vacation. Shopping and recreation is only 13 miles east and the Mobile Ferry that goes to Dauphin Island is 8 miles west.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This review is not a review of the whole Plantation resort, but just unit 1153. The first thing that hit us in entering the unit was the smell. The odor seemed to be coming from the nonfunctional garbage disposal. On Monday, we called GDV and it was fixed but the smell still persisted. After turning off the HVAC system, the smell disappeared.
The unit is dated and needs a facelift. The drapes in the living room, need to be drapes not a group of towel like fabric strung over a curtain rod. The maintenance man fixed the dripping sink but it still dripped.

This was the worst unit GDV has ever delivered. I cannot state that our was ruined because the weather was nice. GDV should be ashamed to offer this place as a vacation resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good for families. I went for my birthday. It is a very serene, quiet, and family-surrounded place to stay. They have elevators and an indoor and an outdoor pool(s). The rooms are large and verrrrrry clean. the one thing our room did not have were plates and utensils.Bummer.

Room Tip: If you take a room on the upper floor, You will have a better view. I have stayed in both buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very comfortable place to stay. I was in unit 4305 west. Bed was comfortable. Appliances good. Untensils stocked. Good view from master bedroom. 2nd bedroom view is of parking lot and tennis courts. Mobile bay is across the street, literally, and then gulf of mexico in front of you. Awesome view. Easy beach access, lots of pools. I did not use most ammenities except indoor heated pool and dry sauna, which were fine. I would come here again. I would not fly into Pensacola though, no freeway route to resort, all state routes, which makes it 60 to 90 minutes to drive to property. I may try to fly into Mobile next time. I rated room service low because there isn't room service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

That says it all, as they have plenty of both!!

They have very good maintained grounds, and a variety of pools, hot tubs and a great beach.

We saw rats by the pink building, and a lot of feral cats roaming around near the other buildings. (They leave the doors to the dumpster room open)

The shower near the sauna did not have hot water, and the treadmill was out of order (Had been reported) the entire 3 weeks we stayed!

I think the manager was on vacation, so we may give them another try, to see if they have improved.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom units are all on the gulf!! Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Address: Highway 180 West, Fort Morgan Pkwy, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Shores Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.