We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gulf Shores location more upscale & more expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar

Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar
1140 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-5913
251-967-4800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 133 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
tennessee
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Gulf Shores location more upscale & more expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have eaten at the original Doc's shack in Orange beach and enjoyed it for what it was - a screened in shack / restaurant with good, quick seafood.
On this visit our condo was closer to this newer Gulf Shores location so we went here instead. The food was still good, but the prices were much more. I had the fried oyster dinner, one domestic beer, my spouse had iced tea and the 1/4 lb steamed shrimp appetizer. With tax and tip our bill was $43....
There are many other places that we ate and both had full meals for less money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    57
    35
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food you dream about.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The service is good, the food excellent. Sides could be more interesting, but the ones they offer are very good. Love the fried oysters, fried shrimp, fried fish, green beans and seasoned fries. Making your own cocktail sauce is the way to go. We visit Doc's (2 locations) as part of our annual ritual visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“As my daughter said after dinner. It was ok not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hey it is Christmas. So there was very little selection to choose from. We were just glad to have this as a choice. The wait staff was very pleasant and helpful. The food was was tasty but my fish, Mahi, was overcooked and so was dried out. My wife and daughter had chosen better and the crab on top of their fish was very tasty. Have been to one other seafood restaurant, the oyster bar, and it was much better. We will try some other place

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a fancy place but food was great. The seafood platter was a great size. The price was average. Would come back again and again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved the Crab Legs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had the crab legs for an apitiezer. They were the best I have ever eat. Our other food was good but when you start off with the best it is hard to say just great things about the other. Had wonderful service. We were there on a Monday night. Pretty much had the whole place to ourselfs. Our waitress was great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.