We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“natural area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge

Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge
12295 State Highway 180, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
(251) 540-7720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 attractions in Gulf Shores
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking, Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 6,000-acre nature preserve with a number of endangered species.
foley al
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“natural area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

there is nothing wrong with it, I mean it is natural wildlife area, but it is a long walk from street to beach at the pine trail (can't remember actual name of it because our family calls it "pine death trail"), if you are not reasonably fit, do not set out on this trek in the summer time because you may not come back, it is a lot farther than the one mile that the sign says, more like 3 miles one way and there is a lake with alligators out there, cool to see but very dangerous

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Enjoyable in the spring. A lil warm during our June visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido Key Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I just drove nearby. It was very peaceful, hope to go there and spend some time soon.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Birds and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Uncrowded, easy access, on the Alabama Birding Trail. Birding varies by season. Glad this are was saved vs turning into condos.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Jeff Friend trail was a shady, pleasant addition to our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I took my 4 kids on the Jeff Friend trail while staying in Fort Morgan. It was shady and the path is maintained well. The trail meanders along the Little Lagoon, and we were able to hop off of the boardwalk and walk along the sandy waters edge, collecting hermit crabs and spotting fish. This was a great FREE activity to do in the heat of the day to stay out of the sun.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge to your Saves list