We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who layed this out??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cambrian Ridge

Cambrian Ridge
101 SunBelt Parkway, Greenville, AL 36037
334-382-9787
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Greenville
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Who layed this out??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We played seven of the Trail courses in a week and this one is our least favorite.It was our first course and I will tell you we were disappointed thinking they were all like this, so happy they were not. It seemed like every shot was blind who knows what is up ahead and as a result you find yourself in a lot of trouble. Course knowledge would be very good to have, but we had none. Most of us that thought we had a very good shot and were penalized because you have no idea what is up ahead. We have all played a lot of courses and agree this one is a joke.While the scenery is great it is not worth the aggravation. If they have a yardage book they should include it or at the very least suggest it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“played short course in the wind...18 holes tomorrow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

They were doing major reconstruction work on the short course, so we had to skip some holes. It will be beautiful, and interesting for a short course. Look forward to playing it again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Not as enjoyable as other RTJ courses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This was the sixth of the Trail courses we played in a week and one of my least favorite. The holes include many blind shots with little surprises on the other side like a creek or a cart path to send your ball careening off line. So course knowledge is important and, of course, doesn't exist for casual visitors. Several very good shots were penalized by ignorance of the outcome. The elevation changes are sharp and creek carries can turn a four par hole on the card to a five par if you are lucky. The setting is pleasant as is expected for all of the RTJ courses, but not as spectacular as Lakes or the Judge at other locations. Cambrian Ridge would probably benefit from a caddy system for visitors like us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Layout on the RTJ Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great condition, best piece of property on the tour for the routings of a golf course. Have played all of the RTJ courses and it is my favorite

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautiful with a wonderful view of the golf course. They have a restaurant and lovely dining area that can be rented for a wonderfully reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambrian Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Cambrian Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambrian Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.