We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the way to Mobile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bates House of Turkey

Bates House of Turkey
1001 Fort Dale Road, Greenville, AL
334-382-6123
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lunch on the way to Mobile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Having travelled this route for years to Mobile I had learned some road skills and one of them was to stop at Bates House of Turkey.

There are two reasons for stopping here. - 1) the food is excellent 2) there is not much too chose from until you reach Mobile/Pensacola or Gulf Shores.

I had the turkey and dressing which was excellent and my wife had a huge turkey sandwich which was also excellent.

If you choose to drive by rather than stop and get hungry in an hour remember I warned you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Whenever we travel I-65 in the the Greenville area, we make it a point to stop in Bates restaurant for a Turkey sandwich or bowl of Turkey gumbo. They make so many dishes with Turkey it's not just for Thanksgiving. Good old homemade food from a longstanding family operation. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Turkey Day on a non-turkey day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stop at Bates House of Turkey every time we are in the area. Lunch is fast and good. This time it was sandwiches. yummy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A "must stop" on the way to the beach. Although often quite busy during the summer travel season, the food comes out quickly and is consistently delicious. Make sure to take some smoked turkey breast with you for sandwiches during your vacation!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gracey, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They specilize in turkey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very fast and friendly service. The sides were good but portions were small. I enjoyed viewing the numerous pictures and painting's of turkey's, both domestic and wild. The dressing was great. If you don't like turkey you might want to eat elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bates House of Turkey also viewed

 

Been to Bates House of Turkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bates House of Turkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.