We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "half way" place to stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   842 Thompson Street, Gardendale, AL 35071   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great "half way" place to stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were on the way to Louisville from New Orleans, traveling with a 3 month old. We didn't get to the hotel until after 11PM, so the doors were locked. But there is a buzzer and always someone on duty to let you in. The staff was very gracious, making this a great place to stay that is about half way between New Orleans and Louisville. (It also got us on the north side of Birmingham so we didn't have to worry about rush hour, which was a plus.)

Didn't try the breakfast or pool.

Room Tip: They reserve the rooms on the 3rd floor for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
13
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mercer, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This Best Western hotel is fairly new & away from I-65 traffic noise. We had a suite with sofa, coffee table & computer desk; nice to have friends in for a chat. The hot breakfast is very good & the staff friendly & helpful. The cost of our 4 night stay was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel whilst travelling back from our vacation in Florida. After a long drive it is just what we needed to relax for the night ready for another day of driving. The hotel was easy to get to. It was very clean, comfy and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stay at this hotel at least once a month and are never disappointed. The staff is professional and very friendly. The rooms are clean and welcoming. The breakfast is very good and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

May 11,2013 @ approx 3:30am, we totaled our vehicle on I-65. I looked at the policeman and asked where to go until we could call the insurance co and get a rental. He named several hotels but I asked where he would send his family and this is the one he took us to. Thank you officer :) We explained our accident to the desk clerk who was very sympathetic and very quickly gave us a room. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was hearty and there was something for everyone's taste. The morning desk clerk was very helpful in getting a taxi for my husband, getting mapquest directions to the tow yard and providing me with a comb since I had not grabbed luggage. They offered to extend our checkout time if we needed it since it was approx 4:30am when we checked in. Lovely breakfast, extremely clean rooms and terrific desk clerks..what more could you ask for? Oh, to the lady who made breakfast, you did a wonderful job :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We strongly recommended staying here at this wonderful Best Western in Gardendale, AL! We have stayed here many times. We always feel valued & appreciated by all the friendly folks here! We always look forward to staying here! The room is very relaxing, clean, cool and beautiful! The breakfast is Delicious! And the Breakfast Hostess is very nice and helpful. There are several good restaurants nearby, as well. Please come & stay here soon! :-D

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Staff is so friendly and helpful. We have been staying at this hotel once a month for over two years. We have always been greeted with a smile. Requests are handled immediately and efficiently. The rooms are always clean and inviting. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale

Address: 842 Thompson Street, Gardendale, AL 35071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gardendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.