We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful nights sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   842 Thompson Street, Gardendale, AL 35071   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful nights sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Sharon was the one who checked us in,she has a great personailty and was very pleasant to talk with. She made us feel at home. The room was a king and it slept great. We enjoyed our stay and will be going back in Oct. They had a descent breakfast. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
13
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My family stopped at this hotel on our way to Florida. For a one night stay, this is an adequate hotel. The rooms were very clean, however, the decor was very out-dated. Front desk staff was very pleasant. The continental breakfast was very basic but there was an employee constantly clearing tables and keeping the breakfast items replenished. The outdoor swimming pool was clean. All in all this was a good choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The first room I was assigned smelled musty and the carpet looked very dirty. The woman at the front desk had one room left which smelled better but didn't look better. When I looked on their website, I was under the impression that the waffles would be 'homemade' and there would be other hot offerings. There was gravy that did not appear fresh and the waffles were along the line of Egos that needed to be toasted. When trying to checkout the man at the desk wasn't able to run our gift cards. When I went back to the desk to make sure I had his name when I called corporate he did give me the option of leaving the cards with my phone number on the back. The next person did call as promised and I was able to use the gift cards but it was inconvenient. The pool also did not open until 10 am.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean. Beds were small but comfortable. Rooms offered refrigerator and microwave and there was a small breakfast in lobby Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in early April 2010. Average, run-of-the-mill place. We had a king suite that had plenty of space for the two of us and our preschooler. Sofa pulls out into a bed, and there's a mini-fridge and microwave- musts for traveling with kids. The room was very clean, and the staff was professional. The continental breakfast did the job- toast, Danish, muffins, fruit, and biscuits and gravy. The location is a little weird.

Cons: poor tv reception, poor wi-fi signal in room (free but barely strong enough to even use). Also, the gym equipment needs updating. Several machines didn't work.

Still, we will stay here again. It served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We recently stayed at this Best Western for one night on our way to Birmingham. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially with getting our rooms switched to adjoining ones. The rooms were clean, the beds comfy. We booked the King suites and it was nice to have a couch to sit on instead of just the bed or desk area. The complimentary breakfast offered a variety of choices and there was plenty of food available. The location is right off I-65 but we didn't hear any noise from the highway at all. It is a quick drive to downtown Birmingham, about 10mins. The internet in the room worked well & fast. The business centre also worked well and we were able to print items.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limestone County, AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My son's baseball team participated in a tournament in Gardendale. We experienced a pretty nasty storm during which the power went out. We stayed on the third floor. Only one of the emergency lights worked on the entire floor. The stairwell was lit by one light on the second floor. After about an hour, that light went out, and the stairwell was completely black! The power was out for 2 & 1/2 hours!

The next morning, I asked if I could get a discount because of the loss of electricity and the problem with the emergency lighting. The desk clerk was quick to inform me that the hotel didn't offer discounts nor did she have any control over the weather (like I wasn't aware of that!). When I asked about the emergency lighting, she again told me they had no control over those things! I think the Fire Marshall would disagree!

Our entire team had planned two more multi-night stays at this same hotel, but we changed our location after this stay. I contacted the main office, but I have yet to hear from them. If you decide to stay at this location, be sure to pack a couple of flashlights and extra batteries! (And the drink machine on the third floor didn't work, so we had to use the one in the lobby!)

On a positive note, the night staff was VERY helpful and friendly. The morning housekeeper also went out of her way to be as helpful and accommodating as she possibly could, and the rooms were clean!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale

Address: 842 Thompson Street, Gardendale, AL 35071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gardendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.