We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Gadsden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Gadsden to your Saves list
Days Inn Gadsden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1612 West Grand Avenue, Gadsden, AL 35904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Durham, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were booked there as part of a group. Immediately on entering our room, we noticed dozens of round black stains (about the size of a quarter) on the carpet. The bathroom wall between the toilet and shower was covered with black mold from the floor to the ceiling. It was gross.

We told the desk clerk that we couldn't stay in that room, and she gave us another. It was better, but there was still some mold on the grout around the bath tub. We also noticed exposed electrical wires leading from the wall outlets to the light fixtures -- it looks like they added outlets, and relocated the lights to accommodate the new outlets, but the way they did it doesn't meet code.

I'm finding the good reviews on this site hard to swallow. I've stayed in some pretty bad hotels before, but this was the only one that has ever made me actually fear for my health.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    18
    11
    19
See reviews for
23
14
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
heavenly rhode island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I ran to this hotel after making a really bad choice at another..They were so kind to give me a discounted rate and because i stayed for almost a week, they discounted the pet fee and the housekeepers are awesome...The room was exceptionally clean, nice size and the beds very comfortable....Will for sure stay here again when in town....Thanks Days Inn Gadsden!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at this Days Inn for several years on race weekends. We find this hotel very nice and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Gadsden, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
eddie k,

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to create an environment of safety, comfort, reasonable cost and superior customer service for all of our guests. We appreciate you chosing our hotel for your stay in our area and invite you back for another visit. Guests like you keep us motivated to continue to make improvements and smiles on our faces.

Thank you again,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and I attended this Day's Inn in 2010 - we booked our reservations almost one year in advance (we are Nascar fans and that's pretty much standard operating procedure in order to get a room near to the track) and our stay was fine. The outside of the Days Inn is a little old but all rooms had been upgraded. We decided that for the 2011 race, we would again stay here...clean rooms, close to the track...no troubles.

For this year's stay, we had been given a bit of a run-around 2 weeks prior to our arrival - wanting to bill my credit card prior to arriving - Corporate offices indicated that no, you don't do that, management commenting that the room rate was a on the "low side" - I had booked online a year prior and booked on the actual corporate site, not a discount hotel website....when we finally arrived from Toronto to Gadsden Alabama, we were told our room was not available. We were then shifted to Exit 183 (we were at Exit 181) to another Days Inn who would honour our reservation. This Days Inn looked better on the outside and was a much bigger hotel. However, upon entering the lobby, the smoke and musty smell hit like a ton of bricks. I'm a smoker, and the smell was noticeable to me! Our room was honored, our rate was honored and we headed to the room.

Our room was what I had originally requested - ONE YEAR EARLIER - non-smoking, king bed....however, the room was old and not very nice, there was a smell of mens cologne as if it were used as an air freshener...this exit from the interstate was not near any decent restaurants and we had to go back to Exit 181 if we wanted the amenities we desired.

Based on the fact that this we had a 2 day trip to get to Gadsden, Alabama, and were arriving on a Nascar race weekend, knowing full well that any room that may be available would be grossly overpriced, IF there were even ANY available is scary. We book a year in advance to ensure that we have a place to stay for the race weekend and in 2010 this place was fine. I would simply be leary about staying at this Days Inn again unless you are closer than a 16 hour drive away. You don't need to arrive and discover you have nowhere to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Darcygirl,

I am so sorry that your experience was not what you expected. During race week, we do request that our guests reserve their rooms by pre-paying for them to avoid losing a tentative reservation due to the influx of race fans that wait until last minute to find lodging. This guarantees you a room and avoids any possible confusion.

Unfortunately for us all, the room that you had requested had some last minute plumbing issues that we were unable to resolve in a timely manner to provide you that particular king non-smoking room. We did try to accomodate you by offering a double non-smoking room or a king smoking room as that is all we had available for you. You graciously refused either of those options.

Our only alternative, according to Days Inn policy, is to try to accomodate you at another Days Inn that would honor your request and reservation. I am dismayed that your stay at that location was not up to your standards.

I would like to apologize for any problems that you had and hope that you will give us the chance to rectify the situation the next time you travel to this area.

Respectfully,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Read 1 review before deciding to check it out. This review was incorrect and misleading as it described this Hotel as basically being a dump. My wife and I were very pleased at what we found when we arrived at the Hotel to check it out. The person at the desk was very helpful and professional as we inquired about the standards of the rooms that we had read about. She assured us their rooms were clean and everything up to standards. Well, she was absolutely right and we had a very pleasant and comfortable 2 night stay with them. The bed was a king size, brand new and very, very comfortable. The only thing we found that could use an upgrade were the towels, wash cloths and bed pillows. The towels and wash cloths were very course or rough to the touch and the pillows were too thin and flat. Besides these two things, our stay with Days Inn of Gadsden was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Pop_Nana6,

Thank you for staying with us! Especially thank you for the nice things you said about your stay here with us. We strive to provide excellent customer service, a friendly atmosphere and reasonable cost. I'm sorry that you found our towels and pillows not to your liking. We will certainly change those items out as soon as possible.

We have recently updated our exterior with a new color scheme. I personally invite you to visit us again! It's guests like you that make our business a pleasure to be a part of!

Respectfully,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We were trying to save money on the hotel for the weekend. The person at the desk was very nice. She even showed us two different rooms to choose from. All the rooms had new beds, but that was the only thing that was new. The carpet was disgusting and the tile floor was gross. Various stains on chairs and the walls. Smells came through the walls. Old cheap blanket/comforter. But when we moved to a different hotel for the second night, the manager only charged us for one night, even though we had already paid through the internet for two nights on a "nonrefundable" rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
rachtn05,

I am sorry that you had a bad experience. I am wondering if you have the correct hotel? We replaced all of the carpeting, updated all of the rooms (including furniture, beds, bed linens, and bathrooms) less than a year before your stay.

I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to change your mind about our property. We strive to give all of our guests a pleasurable, comfortable, restful experience.

Respectfully,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We arrived at the Days Inn I-59 Exit 181 early in the evening. The night clerk was professional, helpful and very pleasant. He allowed us to look at the room before registering. The whole property was clean and well kept. You could tell the management took pride in this hotel. The room was spacious and clean, it had a large screen TV, small frig, coffee maker and microwave. Even though the hotel is close to the exit it is just far enough off the highway to be comfortably quite (no road noise). The A/C worked fantastic and we were able to get a welcomed relaxing nights sleep. The included breakfast was great, make your own waffles was my choice. Everything was fresh and tasty. Anytime our travels calls for an overnight in the Gadsden area this is where we will spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
crrhino,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the future. It is guests like you that keep the smiles on our faces!

Thanks again,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Gadsden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gadsden

Address: 1612 West Grand Avenue, Gadsden, AL 35904
Location: United States > Alabama > Gadsden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Gadsden 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently updated our exterior and rooms. We have doubles and kings available, smoking and non-smoking. Our Continental breakfast is served from 7:00 am to 9:00 am daily, with fresh fruit, bagels, eggs and waffles made to order. Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly providing excellent customer service and descriptions of the local flora and fauna. Our pool is available during the warm seasons. We are conveniently located near both Hwy 77 and I-59 with restaurants and other amenities close by. Please come and let us provide you with rest and comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Gadsden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Gadsden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.