We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Full Moon BBQ

Full Moon BBQ
1428 Old Walker Chapel Road, Fultondale, AL
(205) 849-4422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Fultondale
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Independence
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overall, very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I really liked the ribs, the pulled pork was pretty dry, and the catfish was a huge delicious helping! The baked beans were ok, but the corn on the cob was really good. The homemade tartar sauce had a bit of spice and it was actually really good. The service was fairly quick given how busy they were. I would eat there again. Heck I ate there two nights in a row while I was in town!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Ribs, Delicious Cookies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We saw how Full Moon had been rated a top BBQ restaurant by Huffington Post so we were excited to give it a try while passing through Fultondale, AL. We dined in. In all, we ordered two “Classic Rib” plates, “Smoked Turkey on a Salad”, and a hot dog kids’ meal.

The ribs were good. Where we’re from, we’re used to ribs with a sweeter sauce, and this one was more tangy (vinegar-based sauce?). It was a nice alternative. My husband and son polished them off quickly, being generous enough to let me taste one of them. Their steak fries were tasty and cooked to perfection: great whether dipped in ketchup or not.

My salad with turkey was pretty good and I’d chosen fat free ranch on the side. Turkey slices were piled high in the middle. It came with a couple of hot peppers (which I always remove) and a couple small tomato slices. I would have enjoyed more goodies in there like maybe some red onion or olives. Also it came with a few small packs of saltine crackers on the side. I would have preferred croutons for sure.

We’d read good things about the Half Moon Cookies so we ordered a bunch of those. They came cold, individually wrapped in plastic bags. They were chocolate chip and nut cookies, with half dipped in chocolate. Eating one of these made for a good dessert to round out the meal. We brought the rest home and I was excited to find one left over the following morning to enjoy it again!

In all, I’d rate the ribs pretty good (as we’ve had better), the salad average (needed more toppings) and the cookies excellent. It seemed a little on the pricey side for a restaurant where you go up to the counter to order. Overall, however, worth a stop if you’re in Fultondale.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Two years ago, we ate here because it was close to the hotel. This time we made a point of going back. Delicious BBQ with large portions. It is kind of pricey ($30 for two meals) but smaller appetites could easily share one meal. The staff was friendly and polite, while the restaurant was clean and comfortable. We were a little disappointed that they only have one type of sauce, but that is a small issue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely allodicious delicious; No better BBQ anywhere! Roll Tide...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

In all of my 28 years of traveling and testing , especially thru out the SE, you'll not have a better BBQ experience.I could smell the delicious BBQ cooking from the I 65 exit.Such wonderful tasting mustard based BBQ, plus all the trimmings including corn on the cob.Yum Yum!. But as exciting for me were all the pictures and info. of Alabama sports, especially football. That made my dinner complete. ROLL TIDE!! Especially seeing Sara Evans husband in a photo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Highest quality fast food BBQ!
We need this in Canada but if you can't wait go to Birmingham Alabama and try the pulled pork, beef brisket, fried green tomatoes and mac'n cheese!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full Moon BBQ also viewed

 
 

Been to Full Moon BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full Moon BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.