We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ and Quick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Down South Barbeque

Down South Barbeque
19891 County Road 10, Foley, AL 36535
(251) 955-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Foley
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Tuscaloosa, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ and Quick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a taste of true southern BBQ at a roadside stand. We were looking for a quick lunch and found Down South BBQ on Tripadvisor. My wife and I both had the SOB sandwich (BBQ brisket with a vinegar based coleslaw on texas toast) and it was excellent. The restaurant is really a roadside stand but they do have picnic tables under a tent to sit at and eat and the price is reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Everything Down South BBQ has to offer is truly delicious. Tender flavorful ribs, smoked sausage, falling apart beef brisket with creamed horseradish and BBQ sauce, tender green beans with pork, simple but mouth watering kamp stew (a down south BBQ pork version of Brunswick stew), outstanding BBQ baked beans, and an excellent horseradish potato salad that you'll love. True southern service with a smile to go with. MUST stop and eat here. Best BBQ I've ever had, and probably one of my top ten meals of all time. Don't miss!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We took home chopped pork, ribs, beans, slaw for dinner one night at the beach. Being from the Memphis area, we are pretty picky about our BBQ. This was delicious. Will go back again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth It!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stopped by with a family of four and enjoyed everything. The rib and sausage plates were great. Sides were awesome. Great BBQ.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ off the path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Took a bit to find, have two locations one is outside dining, the other is a restaurant. The food was really good, the ribs were juicy and tender; fall off the bone. Others in the party had a cornbread pork sandwich which they all enjoyed. Overall a great find especially when you are trying to move away from chain restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down South Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Down South Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Down South Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.