We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1517 S McKenzie St, Highway 59 South, Foley, AL 36535 (Formerly America's Best Inn & Suites Foley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Memphis, Tn
2 reviews
“Great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Phoned two days before arrival during the Gulf Shores Shrimp Festival. This location was the only one with reasonable rates and availability on Sat. evening. Arrived in the late afternoon. The room was clean and inviting. Large King Bed very comfortable. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and nice. Would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
15
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We arrived at the property and proceeded to the check-in desk where the Manager asked if we were checking in for two rooms. We said no we only have one room and provided the printout. She then told us she had two reservations and that we were responsible for both rooms and needed to contact Expedia to get reimbursed for the cancellation fee (1 night) the hotel was charging us for the second room - the one we never booked.

When she initially said there was a duplicate reservation, we fully expected her to say no problem I will take care of it, but that is not what happened it took us 3 hours over 2 days to get resolution.

Additionally the bathroom in our room was rusty around the toilet and mirror molding was coming off.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abisfoley, manager in question at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
In all fairness to the property and to the customer I feel that I must address this issue with the multiple reservation. The policies and procedures were followed on this property. I was both understanding and accomodating in trying to give this customer all of the information and copies of 2nd reservation they needed to go back to the website where they booked so that the website could correct the problem. I also explained to the guest that if they needed anymore information please call me and I would help them in any way. The problem is when a customer books through expedia,etc
it comes trough multiple systems to get to us. We only know what we receive and must books rooms accordingly. If we receive 2 reservations for the same person we reserve two rooms for that person. If we are to assume that because we get 2 rooms for the same person it must be a duplicate, even though it has 2 seperate reservations numbers, and decide to cancel the extra room that was really needed by the guest we would understand when the guest got here and was short a room and there was not another room within 100 miles and was yelling us. Therefore, each reservation that comes by fax with a seperate reservation number gets a room. I did not purposely try to make this guest angry and it appears that they did get their money for the mistake the website made from the website that made the error. That is what should have happened and did. America's Best Inn Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had an ipod, camera, newly purchased clothing items and clothing items (including underwear) stolen from our room. Had to file police report etc.!!!!!

Rooms smelled like mold and feet. Had to purchase spray to stay in the room.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abisfoley, one of managers at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
In the matter of the stolen items.
The customer failed to mention what the property did-- helped police in catching the 2 that did it.
ipod, camer aand some of the other items were recovered by Foley Police Department based on information about 2 suspects that property gave to police. Both suspects were arrested based on information motel gave police and both conviced. Items returned to owners. As far as the room smelling like feet this was a girls softball team and multiple girls were in each room. There was never mentio of dissatifaction on the part of the room from the customer and we did everything above and beyond to get these items back. I taled to the customer periodically and they thanked us each time for what we were trying to do to help them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Overall, for the price - $86.35 (including tax) this is as good as you are going to get in this area. Having said that, it is about $30 overprice.
For some reason, even though I was one of the first to check in, they put me on the second floor. By the way, they are strict on the checkin time. I wasn't allowed to check in until after 2...even though it was obvious that the maids were done and rooms were available.
The room itself was a good size but not clean. For your own peace of mind I don't recommend looking into, around, or under anything!
The pool seemed to be in good shape and was being enjoyed by a lot kids while I was there.
The breakfast is almost non-existant and if you're after anything more than coffee...good luck.
I checked into the Hol-Inn-Exp at 10:30 am the next day and loved it...

  • Liked — At least they had coffee in the morning
  • Disliked — The TV went out when it rained
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abisfoley, manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
In response to the price 79.95 pls tax is 86.35
which is a great price for this area in the middle of a summer when everyone else is doing 109.00 and higher. 7/7 was a monday
following the 4th of july weekend in a destination area 8 miles from the beach. If we had not been full (86 rooms) and check out not till 11 am and his room or any room been ready before 2 we would have checked him in we do it all of the time. Our breakfast contains 4 types of pastries, 2 kinds of cold cereal. a variety of begels, jellies, butter, cream cheese and wheat toast. 3 types of cold juice and reg or decaf coffee. This quite a lot since we do not have a kitchen and the health department does not allow any thing else. Our TV is on sattelite and if a storm comes it goes out for a small amount of time and comes right back on. Rooms are nice and so is the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores

Address: 1517 S McKenzie St, Highway 59 South, Foley, AL 36535 (Formerly America's Best Inn & Suites Foley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the South side of Foley just several blocks from Tanger Outlet Center and just minutes from the pure white sandy beaches of the Alabama Gulf Coast. Come stay & Play or Shop and rediscover beautiful Foley, Alabama and the Alabama Gulf Coast. Reasonable rate and a friendly staff wait to assist you. Call today---What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns & Suites Foley Hotel Foley
America`s Best Inns And Suites Foley
Best Inn Foley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.