We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DELICIOUS FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp Basket

Shrimp Basket
1500 S. Mckenzie St., Foley, AL 36535-1727
+1 251-943-6643
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Foley
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our menu encompasses a great variety of original seafood and local favorites. Ranging from shrimp, fish, crab claws, and crawfish, we also provide po-boys, chicken, and sandwiches for land lovers. Don't forget about our specialty Roasted Red Pepper Bama Sauce over Fettuccine pasta! The goal at the Shrimp Basket is to provide enjoyable, affordable service to each and every one of our guests at whichever restaurant they choose to dine in. This is accomplished by our professional and well-trained staff working together to ensure that your memories are the best that they can be at the Shrimp Basket. It is no surprise that our popularity has magnified among locals and tourists alike as we continue to expand along the Gulf Coast. We are grillin', steamin', and fryin' for you!
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“VERY DELICIOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is along Highway 59 on the way to Gulf Shores. It is big and the place is homey. The food is delicious! We had the seafood platter and divided it and we had enough. The iced tea is very very good! They have rice which is delicious. Everything we ordered were fried and they were excellent. One thing I wondered why they have no fried calamari when it's a seafood restaurant? Anyway, the waitress was very attentive and friendly. The cost was okay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fried Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent fried shrimp, hushpuppies, steamed cabbage and new potatoes at a reasonable price. Have eaten there several times and always good. Love the choice of steamed veggies. We stop at the Shrimp Basket in several locations, Foley, Bay Minette, Gulf Shores, and Orange Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lunch leaving town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were on our way home and saw the Gulf Shores location looked crowded, so we went to the Foley location. No wait which meant time to run to the outlets afterwards. Two of our group had tacos, one had shrimp basket, and one had whitefish sandwich. All were good. We also tried the shrimp slaw and it was good. No one left hungry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, ignore the decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Appearances-first walk in and there's food on the floor, crumbs on the seats and the menus could use a good wipe down. Then your food comes and all that melts away. Big pieces of shrimp fried in a batter that has a little heat-hits you at the end. Hush puppies were yummy and hubby says the shrimp slaw and crawfish were pretty good as well. I'm not sure why this place isn't cleaner-our server was excellent, but had time to sit and chat with her co-workers when they could have been cleaning up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, quick seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went to the Shrimp Basket at around 7:30 on a Tuesday night, and the place was packed. I was amazed that we were led right to our seats on the front deck, which was nice since the evening was pretty mild. The interior of the restaurant is air conditioned, but it looked really cramped with scraps of food and paper in the main walkway. Our waitress was friendly but overextended, as we hardly saw much of her after the initial order. We ordered a variety of items from fried clams, crawfish, white fish, and crab cakes and they were all very good. Overall, I found the place to be very worthwhile and would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Basket also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.