We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Bay Lodge

Wolf Bay Lodge
20801 Miflin Rd, Rt.20, Foley, AL 36535
+1 251-987-5129
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 101 Restaurants in Foley
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Foley, Alabama, USA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Closed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place has been closed for years! Try searching for the ones in Foley (Miflin Road) and Orange Beach (at Zeke's Marina). I think the one in Foley is better but either way it's overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia Springs, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a let down...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The old Wolf Bay Lodge was a great restaurant. This reincarnation is a bad dream. The portions are ridiculously small...I ordered hush puppies and got 3. They forgot how to cook seafood and what made the original Wolf Bay Lodge famous...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Impressed at all !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Went here with family..waited about 30-45 mins in a hot cramped gift shop, no where to sit down...food was ok at best and not what I was expecting. Waiter took forever to take the orders and then it was another 30min wait for the food to come after we ordered ! I will not be returning any time soon! Could have gotten the same meal up the road for less money !

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressed first-timer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We went to this restaurant on the suggestion of locals while shopping at the outlet malls. When we arrived we were taken straight to a table. I went to the restroom to wash my hands and by the time I made it to the table, the drinks were there. The server was very attentive and stayed that way through the entire meal. The appetizers of cold boiled shrimp were excellent! I ordered the tuna and my wife ordered the grilled grouper to split with our youngest son. When the food arrived, it was delicious. I asked for my tuna steak medium rare and it was cooked perfectly with wonderful flavor. The grouper plate they shared was more then they both could eat and it was delicious as well! After dinner, we stopped in the gift shop and I bought my wife a very nice ring, (funny you can get a great ring from a seafood restaurant gift shop, but we did!) All in all this was a very pleasant dining experience and we WILL be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Impressively unimpressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We ended up at Wolf Bay Lodge after finding out that Zekes Restaurant (which was in the space above what is now Wold Bay Lodge) had closed. We looked at the menu and decided to give Wolf Bay a try. This was a mistake. We were greeted and place on the waiting list. As we were waiting for our table one of the "high top" tables by the bar became available. These are the tables you see at most restaurants near the bar, which are generally "first come, first serve" and are served by the bartenders. We took the opportunity, as the wait was approximately 45 minutes, to seat ourselves. Mistake number two. One of the bartenders greeted us quickly and gave us menus. After this we didnt see her for 30 minutes. It was so long that I went back to the host stand and asked to be placed back in line for a traditional table. Eventually our bartender / server came back around and took our order. My wife and I both ordered the seafood platter, broiled. Now, im sure you all have been to seafood restaurants on the beach aimed at tourists before. These platters are generally gigantic dishes. Monuments to gluttony, if you will. It was our first night of our vacation, so I wanted something grand. What arrived (eventually) was a pitiful little plate of scant portions. It contained 3 pieces of tiny shrimp, 4 oysters, a single stuffed shrimp, a small stuffed crab, a 3 ounce piece of white fish, 2 miniature hush puppies, and a cup of decent seafood gumbo, which I had to remind the server to bring out. My wife's plate was identical. Now, I have ordered this dish at nearly every restaurant on the gulf and I can honestly say this was the most pathetic attempt at a seafood platter I have ever witnessed. The salad bar was adequate, as many have mentioned before, but only a single trip? Come on... That just comes off as cheap. To Wolf Bays Credit the food was pretty good. The lobster bisque was better than the seafood gumbo and the location/ambiance on the docks of Zekes Landing at the waterway is beautiful. This is a sub-average restaurant for the area and we will not be back. I would not recommend Wolf Bay Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Bay Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.