We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2682 South McKenzie Street, Foley, AL 36535   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I usually stay in higher rated hotels but I was traveling last minute for an interview and was trying to save some money. I was not disappointed with this place. They allowed me to check in a few hours early (I had to take a really early flight to get there) which was very appreciated. They have free wi fi which has the fastest download speeds of any hotel I've stayed at (8 Mbps compared to usually 300 kilobytes/second at most others I've been at). This made it much easier to FaceTime with my family. The rooms were satisfactory. There was nothing special but the beds were comfortable and I slept great. I would have liked a few more conveniently located outlets to plug in my various electronics but that wasn't a big deal. The pool was pleasant and I loved the hot tub. Unfortunately a storm came through so I only got to enjoy it for a few minutes before the lighting got close.
The free breakfast was nice. It was slightly limited but on par with the price. They had several cereals, make your own pancakes, juices, and fruit. I can't remember if there was anything else that was hot.
If you are with your family this seems great. It is about 20 minutes from the beach straight down 59.

Room Tip: If you face the pool it might be a little louder as the pool doesn't close until 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am glad we could accomodate you with an early check in! We are currantly reviewing our menu so hopefully when you come back we will be offering more choices to our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took a very spur of the moment trip to the beach with my 11 year old and didn't have a fortune to spend. We decided to stay in Foley and drive the 9 miles to Gulf Shores beaches to save a little money. Called and made the reservation the same day we left and didn't have any problems. Room was very clean and modern. No foul smells. Staff was very nice and helpful. The internet wasn't working very well while we were there which was a little of an inconvenience since my husband needed to be checking his work emails, but that is the only drawback we could find. The breakfast was very nice, gravy and biscuits, pastries, cereal, you can make your own waffles, toast, grits or oatmeal so there is something for everyone. Nice pool and hot tub, With the public beaches at the Gulf State Park in Gulf Shores it was well worth staying in Foley and making the drive to there to save money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager Lisa Couch at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I made a reservation a month before checking in, requested a room on the ground floor on the poolside. Was told that they could not guarantee that but that they would add this in the notes. The day before our very long drive to Gulf Shores, I called the motel again to ensure everything was okay with my reservation, I again repeated, ground floor, poolside. They confirmed that everything was ready to go. Upon checking in, Dennis told us that our room would be on the 3rd floor!! I told him about my reservation that was made a month ago and also that I had called just yesterday and staff had confirmed that all was well with my request. He said he had taken my reservation and reminded me that it was not guaranteed that I would be on the ground floor, pool side. He was condescending, bordering on rude. He finally offered me another room on the 2nd floor poolside. Why he didn't offer that to me to begin with, I don't know. He said they had several stay-overs that night on the poolside ground floor. However, even though we were staying three nights, he did not offer to move us to a ground floor room for the following night or the next. We ended up dragging our cooler, towels, etc. up and down the steps and walking to the other side of the complex for the elevator the entire trip. It was exhausting. He was training a new staff member, Courtney, who tried very hard to provide positive customer service. But maybe management should get someone else to train new staff as Dennis does not seem to be skilled in helping to fulfill guess requests and I don't think he cares. Beware Echo lodge, if he acted that way with me, he's doing it across the board. On the positive side, the grounds were well-kept and attractive. The pool was nice but had several drunk men hanging out there on one occasion. We had to go back to our room as they were creepy. The room was nice and clean. Loved the white down comforters on the bed! Very nice touch. We had timely maid service throughout our stay. Breakfast was good, attendant there was friendly. I also spoke with a housekeeper who was nice so I have to believe that for the most part, the attitude toward customers is a positive one. Bhey checked me out in the morning and was pleasant but did not ask me how my stay was. I was handed my receipt with a "thanks" and a smile. I would probably stay again. Advice to travelers: Don't expect room requests to be honored and avoid condescending check-in staff.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter when you make a reservation, don't expect room requests to be honored so r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
First I would like to say, I am truly sorry for your other than perfect stay at our hotel! I have addressed this situation and provided some retraining also! I would love to talk further about this issue if you could contact me directly at the property! Lisa Couch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel grounds were well kept. The pool area was clean and very pretty. The hotel rooms were modernly decorated and a nice size. We were on the back side facing the pool and despite the pool being full until closing at 11 p.m., our room was very quite and we had no problems in it. The beds were okay, not very comfortable, but not uncomfortable either. The front desk staff were all very nice and professional. Always a friendly hello and a smile. The breakfast left something to be desired. More of a continental breakfast rather then a hot breakfast. No eggs, bacon, sausage. Only cereals, pastries, and a waffle maker. No milk by the time we went down at 8 a.m. The hotel itself needs a little TLC and fresh paint, but overall, quite comfortable stay in great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 223 facing the pool. No traffic and decent sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager Lisa Couch at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the geart review! I am excited to say we are now offer more selections on our menu! Please come back and stay with us so that you can experience our new menus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, and this place was very nice. Everyone who worked there was very nice. The night we checked in it had been raining, and there was a lot of frog's in the back of hotel which made a lot of noise, but after the rain quit we did not hear them anymore. Nice that it is close to outlet mall and other shopping in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Lisa Couch Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We love to here from our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was very surprise at how clean the room was and odor free. Now the bathroom tub did look old but other than that my stay was pleasant. The price was very Nice. I enjoyed the hot every night I stayed. It was only a seven minute drive to the Beautiful Beach which was perfect for the price. I will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Lisa Couch Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I was excited to sare your review with our team members today to show them that all of there hard work is paying off! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Came to the beach for a honeymoon & found this hotel in Foley. We felt very comfortable at this hotel, & that says a lot from me. I am very weary about hotel rooms & where I stay!The rooms were very clean & smelled great! All of the staff were friendly!Very clean & comfortable bedding!! no bugs in sight!! We actually decided to stay an extra night! So glad we chose the econo lodge for our stay! It is a little distance from the beach, but you can't beat the price & the service you get here! It was worth the drive to the beach staying here!! Keep up the good work econo lodge!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Lisa Couch Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the Great Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 2682 South McKenzie Street, Foley, AL 36535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is located just across the street from the Tanger Outlet Mall. We have 82 rooms that include Suites and some with hot tubs. We have an outdoor pool and hot tub, free wi-fi. Free continental breakfast each morning, complimentary USA Today paper, In room coffee/tea maker, flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerators in room and we are just seven miles from Gulf Shores beaches and other local attractions are just a short drive as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.