We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk ALWAYS leaves an impression, in this case not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 South Court Street, Florence, AL 35630   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Athens, AL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Front desk ALWAYS leaves an impression, in this case not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed in Florence during a trip up the Natchez Trace Pkwy. This hotel looked to be one of the closest and best rated in the area. I have to say in many terms....this was a good place to stay. However, in terms of price paid one should really expect better in a few areas. One of those being the front desk. Although there were THREE people behind the front desk, I could see hesitation when it came to the initial greeting/check in. In fact inferior to most places I've stayed. Also crazy was the shouting back and fourth between front desk clerk and manager(?). I'm like, WHAT? The front clerk that DID wait on me was neither friendly nor informative. That's certainly no winning combination.

My room, as was most of the hotel, was very clean and well appointed. No issues whatsoever with the room/bed/bathroom, all very nice. The elevator however creaked and was slow. Also a distraction of having to use your ROOM KEY to access the room to the ice/drink machines! I was on the 4th floor mind you and had all ready used my key to get into the hotel! Come on Hampton...

Breakfast...Actually very GOOD! Lots of choices for a continental-type breakfast. I enjoyed it and appreciate it!

With a little attention to the front desk area...this could easily be a 4-star stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
42
28
17
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. clean very nice and the staff was awesome

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

What a great place to stay while in Florence. I had the best sleep I have had on the road in a very long time. The staff was amazing and hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

just an average hotel stay! nothing extraordinary! freindly staff but seemed much inexperienced!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dothan, al
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

The staff us very professional. The rooms were clean, the indoor pool was nice with a small workout room. Only 25 minutes from RTJ and located close to Dr. Hicks Blvd with quick access to other parts of town. Great stay for a UNA visit. Good breakfast, fresh baked cookies. Staff was very friendly and housekeeping was accomidating. Very safe and secure. Only blocks from Ricatoni's, Rosies and Trobridges.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown

Address: 505 South Court Street, Florence, AL 35630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown Hotel Florence
Hampton Inn And Suites Florence-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.