We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary - seriously, run away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Economy Inn
Save
You added Economy Inn to your Saves list
402 E Tennessee Street, Florence, AL 35630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Florence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scary - seriously, run away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the price and location. I had to get to Florence because my elderly grandfather fell and was in the hospital, and I was the closest relative.
The room stank; there was a giant hole in the wall, spiders in the bathroom (that's what did it for my husband); I could go on ad nauseum.
There were tennants there who hung out on the balcony - very shady situation.
We left after about 5 minutes from checking in. When we got home, our credit card was charged twice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swhite28
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

I am not a hard to please person, but this hotel was terrible. My husband and I have a young child, and ended up leaving because we did not feel safe. There were people who lived there, watching tv with their doors wide open, partying and being loud. As soon as we pulled in the parking lot people started opening their doors and looking out to see who we were (by the way, we got there at 9:30 at night)...if you look at the internet page, do not go by there pictures or anything, it looks like that picture was taken 30 years ago. The chain was broke off our door, so we only had a door lock that was like a door knob. We were told, when we were looking for another hotel, that the swimming pool is also a public swimming pool, I do not know if that is true, but would not doubt it. We will definitly not be making reservations for this place ever again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikebauer06
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Whoever gave the hotel a 5 star review must work there, because this is definitely NOT a hotel deserving one. Wireless internet didn't work in my room, the towels were washed, but stained. The floor was stained as well. A rennovation would do wonders. On the upside the staff was extremely helpful, and very pleasant. In the end, it is an OK place, and for $40/ night the short commings could be expected.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room condition
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

We stayed in this motel when we first came to florence for the first time. We have seen many motels before checking in this one. It was a great choice we made. The rooms were well kept and the service was very good. The people are very friendly and would stay in this motel whenever around.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Liked all the things.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Room was okay but good part is Free Long Distance, Outdoor Pool & TV got 96 channels with 8 HBO movie channels.

  • Liked — Free Long Distance, HBO, Outdoor Pool
  • Disliked — Price and Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Address: 402 E Tennessee Street, Florence, AL 35630
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Number of rooms: 58

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.