We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Etta Gray Street, Florence, AL 35630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florence
New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here while visiting family. The staff is great and the place is clean. As a Royal Platinum Ambassador, they gave me a very nice room and took great care of me during my visit. The hotel is convenient to many very nice restaurants and the local mall. I appreciate all the hard work the staff put into making my stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay and thank you for staying with us ! We love the feedback from our guests. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
6
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've stayed this hotel multiple times. It is always clean, well organized, and the complementary breakfast is reasonable. It is also near a plethora of restaurants. Highly recommended for business travelers. Maybe a little slim on recreational activities for families with young children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and wee very happy, we were traveling from the Dallas Market Center and after 3 days of purchasing inventory we were wiped out and all of our credit cards maxed out; so we were down to cash. We thought we would try something new and saw the wonderful reviews for the comfort inn suites; and apparently they couldn't take the cash without a credit placing a 100 hold. Next time I will just come directly here and save myself time and trouble.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad you chose our hotel. We will absolutely take cash and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are in the area !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place looks nice upon first glance, but on further inspection it's obvious that cleanliness is lacking. I went to take a shower and found dried, bloody snot on the shower curtain! Not just a little, but quite a lot. Absolutely disgusting. Coffee pot in the room was filthy, too, not that I was planning to use it. I also found long white hairs on the bed blanket (we don't have white hair). Wi-fi was terrible, too. I won't stay at another Holiday Inn Express ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests . I want to specifically apologize for the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is certainly not in keeping with our usual high level of cleanliness and service. Please be assured that these issues are being addressed with the staff in order to prevent recurrence. I do understand your frustration. My hope is that you will give our hotel another chance to win back the faith and confidence you placed in us when choosing this hotel for your stay. I also hope that you will definitely give our brand another chance in whatever area you choose to travel. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact me directly at the hotel.
Again, thank you for letting us know about your stay.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel appears fairly new and well maintained. The rooms are large, the beds are good, has the standard mini fridge, micro and coffee maker. The internet is fast, the breakfast is standard waffles and muffins. The location is OK, pretty commercial, one restuarant in walking distance, short drive to others. No real home away from home feel, just a little too commercial.

OK for an in and out overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate all comments from our guests. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose our hotel the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely
Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

When your clock is off - Eastern time and don't want to wake your mate making coffee in the bathroom- well it was a delight to have coffee there, the TV news on. Recently updated so rooms were perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review you stay at our hotel. We welcome all comments from our guests. I am happy to know that we were able to make your stay more enjoyable by having our wonderful Smart Roast Coffee avaiable for you . It was our pleasure to serve you ! We look forward to welcoming you back !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here in Feb. of 2012 for our daughter's birthday. Normally, we stay at the Marriot for things like this, but we couldn't get reduced rates for this particular weekend. We selected the Holiday Inn because it was relatively new, had a pool and was around $100. The room was a standard guest room, it didn't stand out from any other hotel where I've stayed. It was clean and had the normal amenities. When we checked in, we witnessed a lady with her child complaining to the front desk about bites they had received in the pool area. The staff at the desk handled this with professionalism which I respect. Of course, the pool was the reason for our visit so we ventured to it pretty quickly after arriving. The pool is in an enclosed room which holds in the stench of chlorine. Also, the acoustics make it very difficult to carry on a conversation with someone. After spending several hours in the pool, my daughter also had a few bites but we couldn't decide what had caused them. The pool itself had quite a few bugs floating around in it and a film on top of the water surface. However, my daughter upon waking the next morning did not hesitate to want to go back. The breakfast was good and was the only thing that exceeded my expectations. We did visit the pool again until checkout time. All in all, the hotel served its purpose - it provided a clean room, pool, and breakfast at a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and accommodating. There are several good options for food within walking distance (buffalo wild wings, logan's, ruby tuesday's, five guys burgers and fries). So, if I were traveling and just needed those things, this would be a good place. However, if you are wanting something more luxurious, it's not here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate all comments from our guests. Please be assured that the issues you experienced have been addressed. We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE

Address: 180 Etta Gray Street, Florence, AL 35630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Florence, Alabama hotel's near the Tennessee River. The Holiday Inn Express® Florence Northeast Hotel is located in the northwest corner of Alabama, an area best known for its variety of outdoor activities. As you visit this friendly town, pause to enjoy the surrounding countryside, which includes the beautiful Tennessee River and Pickwick Lake. Business travelers lodging in Florence appreciate our on-site Business Center and 1,008-square-foot meeting room. We are close to many major businesses, including Wise Alloys, TNT Fireworks, TVA (Tennessee Valley Authority), Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Florence Industrial Park and North American Lighting. The University of North Alabama, Eliza Coffee Memorial Hospital and Helen Keller Hospital are located in Florence, Alabama. Our hotel's property is near the Tennessee River, which boasts excellent fishing, swimming and boating. After a busy day on the river, slow down and enjoy a leisurely game of golf at The Shoals, part of the popular Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The family can enjoy a visit to the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, as well as the Helen Keller House and WC Handy Birthplace & Museum. You can begin each day with a fantastic meal from our complimentary hot breakfast bar, and while lodging in Florence, our guests can also take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access we provide in each guest room. Our hotel also features an indoor pool and Fitness Center. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence Ne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence NE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.