We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurant in town.... Really!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamara's Downtown

Tamara's Downtown
104 N Section St, Fairhope, AL 36532
251-929-2219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 92 Restaurants in Fairhope
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant in town.... Really!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Service was horrible, server new nothing about wine or food offered. Food was really average nothing special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food,friendly staff and very clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For starter we had the filet sweet potato chilli, excellent flavor. Oyster Rockefeller,were also very good, oysters were very fresh. Shared the grilled scallops, wrapped in apple wood bacon, the scallops were a little over cooked. We will eat here again and try other dishes when visiting Fairhope.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Back for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went for Lunch, and liked it so much we came back for dinner the same day, even though it was raining and we planned to stay in. It was the last night of our stay and we decided to get wet instead of missing it. We were not disappointed. Service was prompt, but not intrusive. Portion sizes were more than adequate. Prices were reasonable for quality of food. We had some great food during our five night stay inthe area, but this was high point!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistant Execellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A must stop on every visit. Excellent presentation and taste. Perfect from stem to stern. Lump crab cakes, wedge salad with crumbled blue cheese and rasberry, and, a fabulous new way to enjoy cabbage with horseradish.

Over the years, all dining experiences have been wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Now Here's Excellence In A Small Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Atmosphere, ambiance, flavorful food, tastefully decorated with a modern flare, servers friendly and intelligent!! Prices moderate to high but worth the price for excellent food. I had the Fried Green Tomatoes with Lump Crab Sauce.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamara's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Tamara's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamara's Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.