We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, fantastic, great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Clear Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairhope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Clear Cottages
Save
You added Point Clear Cottages to your Saves list
18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Hammond, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, fantastic, great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the Pelican's Nest on January 31st and February 1-2. It exceeded our expectation. The Pelican's nest is very large and more like a very nice apartment. It has a full kitchen, dining area, and living area. The refrigerator was stocked with essentials like ice cream, milk, cream juices of several types, and water. The architecture was esthetically pleasing. The first breakfast was served in a beautiful setting and included a delicious fruit dish, crab cake omelet, potatoes, grits, and a bread pudding desert. All of it a delight to the pallet. The staff was very attentive and treated us like royalty. I have stayed at b&bs before but none even close to this. The owner, Mr Robert is a very nice man with good advice on where to eat and things to see. Take the advice.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional, however, if you don't mind climbing a short set of stairs I highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review. We are glad that you were pleased with your room and your stay at Point Clear Cottages. We hope that you will keep us in mind whenever you are in the area again.

Thank you.

Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
251
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful home, great views of the bay, not far from town, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. Mr. Robert even got me a bottle of wine as a birthday present! I would definitely reccommend a stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing Point Clear Cottages to celebrate your Birthday and for your review. We appreciate your business.

Thank you

Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Point Clear Cottages to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Mr. B and the girls were fantastic. The rooms were very clean, the sheets were ironed. The breakfasts were delicious. The cottages were very welcoming and relaxing. Enjoyed our time shopping in town, and eating dinner at local places. We will be back. We are so glad we stayed here, and made some great friends as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the heart felt review. I am glad that you were able to venture downtown Fairhope to visit some of shops and restaurants. I would also like to thank you for choosing Point Clear Cottages. We look forward to your return.

Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just returned from a delightful stay at Point Clear Cottages in Fairhope. We slipped off from Pensacola for a couple of days to celebrate our 42nd Anniversary, and what a treat it was! Despite the very cold weather outside, Mr. Berglin's hospitality made for a very warm and welcome stay. The home and grounds are beautiful and no details have been left out. The pier seems to go on forever and at the end are rocking chairs to relax in. The house was decorated for Mardi Gras and "the girls," Joanie and Tabitha, do an excellant job of keeping everything beautiful. Breakfast was another treat of pecan waffles, crab omelets, fresh preserves, and the best scrambled eggs I have every eaten. Our host shared stories and books and made us feel very welcome. We will come again...and again....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We at Point Clear Cottages would like to take this time to thank you for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for fellow shipping on Sunday with Mr. B, it meant a lot to him. Please come back and visit with us.

Thank you for your kind review.

Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent delightful Fri. & Sat. night in the Cottage. We arrived in a misting rain, which made it that much cozier (we were able to get right in because Robert had called us about an hour out that we could go right in when we arrived). What a wonderful surprise! Every little detail was to perfection. I felt like the perspective son-in-law being courted by a cunning perspective mother-in-law. Robert was most accommodating to allow us to invite a friend of ours whom we had not seen for 15 years to breakfast (which seemed prepared especially for us by Tabitha & Joinie).
I wish we had discovered this place years ago. We usually go to Fairhope at least twice a year and have always stayed at the Grand. No more. Robert's place will be our first choice from now on.
Incidentally, we had dinner at the Wash House on Friday and Jesse's on Saturday. Both excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to learn of our memorable stay here at Point Clear Cottages. We look forward to your return.

Thank You
Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After reading such great reviews on Point Clear Cottages, we chose to stay at Point Clear Cottages instead of the Grand Hotel for our anniversary trip. We are so glad we did. The breakfast each morning was amazing. The breakfast is freshly made each morning. We had pecan waffles and bacon one morning. The second morning we had shrimp quiche, croissants, and breakfast potatoes. Of course breakfast includes coffee and orange juice. The table was beautiful each morning. We stayed in the Bayshore Cottage. The cottage was beautifully decorated and very cozy. The frig was stocked with ice cream, waters, milk, and juices. There was also coffee and a coffee pot in the room. The cottage has a great view of the Bay. There is a pier with rocking chairs and a hammock. The weather was too cold to enjoy those very much while we were there, but we did spend a little time on the pier. The owner is so accommodating. Beautiful location and cottage. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Fairhope.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We at Point Clear Cottages would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. I am sorry that the weather was not more cooperative but happy to learn that you did get to spend a little time on the Pier.

Thank you.

Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I love this place. Of all the great hotels we have ever stayed at, this is now by far our favorite. We could not have asked for better accommadations and service. The owner, Mr. Berglin was absolutely charming and the setting is unequaled. We have already booked the cottage for 2 more stays and hope to go back 3 to 4 times a year. It is a great value and only minutes from Fairhope, a quaint little town full of great restaurants like Dragonflys and the best wine bar ever... RED OR WHITE. Congrats to Mr. Berglin for creating the BEST B&B anywhere.

Room Tip: Loved the separate cottage, highly recommend if you do not like bed and breakfast atmosphere and pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the heart felt review. Downtown Fairhope is a lot like Point Clear Cottages, lots of different things to do and explore. I am delighted to learn that you will be returning again soon.

Thank you.

Joannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Clear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Clear Cottages

Address: 18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on Mobile Bay. Each has queen bed and suitable for couple. Top quality accommodations. Ironed sheets and quality linens. DirecTV premium channels, wireless high-speed internet. Hot tub, pier. Fresh cooked breakfast of crab omelets, shrimp & grits, pecan waffles, blueberry pancakes, Monday thru Saturday. Nice continental breakast on Sunday's in cottages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Clear Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.