We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Gift” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Clear Cottages

Save Saved
You added Point Clear Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Clear Cottages
18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast with Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Slidell, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Gift”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our children sent us to this better than perfect retreat for our anniversary. Point Clear Cottages is a wonderful place to relax and unwind for a romantic weekend. Mr. Robert and his staff are ready to provide friendly service and great food. There are many nice restaurants in the lovely town of Fairhope. However, our most enjoyable time was relaxing at Point Clear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bruce & Chira, Thank you so much for spening your anniversary at Point Clear Cottages.
I am so glad that you were so pleased with your stay here and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
204
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Point Clear Cottages was a very good choice for a friends get away. We were looking for a relaxing time just to get away from it all and this place was a very good choice. We would recommend staying here to anyone looking for this type of get away. We will definetly be going back. Mr. Robert and his staff were the best!!! Sherry, Dianne, Ann and Brandi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dianne and friends,
Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that you all had a good time and I enjoyed meeting all of you. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Point Clear Cottages is without a moment of doubt a great place to spend a few days. Our visit to see family was made complete by staying here. We could not have asked for better service and appreciated every moment of it. As you enter the drive way the beautiful property reaches out to you to include the view to the bay of water. The peaceful feeling you leave with makes you want to return soon. Mr. Berglin and his staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Everything about this special place is just beyond belief.

The Dillards

Room Tip: Cottage was a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Kay and Bill,
Thank you so much for staying in the Bayshore Cottage on your recent visit with Bill's mother in Fairhope. I appreciate the great review and am so appreciative of your business. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our anniversary at Point Clear Cottages - everything about our stay was absolutely magnificent! Robert Berglin, Owner, is such a wonderful and cordial host! He wanted to make sure that he provided anything that we wanted or needed! We stayed in "Bayshore Cottage" which was absolutely delightful - we loved the front porch with the rocking chairs overlooking Mobile Bay! The cottage was furnished nicely and was very comfortable! I loved having the nice bathrobes to slip into after having a refreshing shower! Every amenity was taken care of; i.e. ice cream in the freezer, every fruit juice that you could imagine, hot tea, cereals - you name it - it was available, and if we didn't have it, Mr. Berglin told us to ask! The bed was very, very comfortable, and I loved the orthopedic pillows - they were fabulous! His staff is outstanding - it was a pleasure getting to know Sharon and Joey! Sharon is a wonderful cook; she prepared the best Shrimp and Grits for breakfast that we have ever had! The second morning, Sharon prepared Crabmeat Omelets - the entire visit to Point Clear Cottages was outstanding - I highly recommend it, and we will return!

Jimi / John G.

Room Tip: This is considered a B & B - Mr. Berglin provides the Bayshore Cottage and Pelican's Rest gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Jimi and John,
I appreciate you staying the Bayshore Cottage during your recent trip to Fairhope. I am so appreciative of your wonderful review. I am so happy that you were so pleased with Point Clear Cottages. I want everyone to have a memorable trip and to come again. Thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodore, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Point Clear Cottages for our 33rd anniversary. What a beautiful and peaceful place. Mr. Berglin was a wonderful host with a great staff. The property is magnificant. The breakfasts were great! Such wonderful hospitality! Never been treated better. We truly felt like "welcomed guests". There were drinks and ice cream in the fridge to enjoy too!! There were red roses and chocolate candy waiting for me in our room from Mr. Berglin. What a nice surprise. His attention to detail is wonderful. This place is a little slice of heaven here on earth. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: One cottage has full kitchen; second cottage has microwave and fridge only. The master bedroom in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Karen and Paul,
It was so good to meet you and have you stay at Point Clear Cottages. I appreciate the great review and am glad the stay was special for your anniversary. I look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a fantastic B & B. The accomodations are nothing short of superb and Bob Berglin is a most congenial host. Both places are absolutely immaculate and stocked with anything anyone could want. The breakfast was truly outstanding. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The pier has a two person hammock where we enjoyed the sunsets over Mobile Bay and a hot tub where we relaxed after dark. Mr. Berglin goes out of his way to make the visit as perfect as possible and is the most accomodating host I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. . We will absolutely come back to visit again and give Point Clear Cottages the highest recommendation possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Wolf, I appreciate you and your wife spending the first two days of your honeymoon here at Point Clear Cottgages. I am sorry that you had to cut your trip short due to Hurricane Issac.
I look forward to seeing you in the future and wish you much happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, AR
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The charm of Fairhope beckons us for repeated visits. We've enjoyed accommodations at numerous establishments. This was our first stay with Point Clear Cottages. Now that we've enjoyed the exceptional southern hospitality of Mr. Berglin and his staff, I need to look no further for, 'that perfect place'. The Pelican’s Rest accommodations exceeded our expectations. Daily needs were met beyond measure. The grounds were meticulously groomed and projected a flawless appeal. Breakfasts were grounded in southern culinary expertise and enticing to any palate. Dining was hosted on the porch, overlooking the bay which truly completed the first class experience. The location of Pelicans Rest Cottage offers flexibility and convenience, because it's only a short walk to The Grand Hotel's spa and an unforgettable journey along the boardwalk; a must for any Fairhope tourist. Numerous shops and cafes are within a short bike ride offering numerous afternoon entertainment options. One of my most enjoyable memories was laying on the pier’s hammock, listening to the waves crash against the dock and the serenade of various species of birds. Fish were schooling at the top of the water and dolphins splashed not too far from the shore. Total relaxation! We will return sooner, rather than later. I will greatly look forward to seeing Ms. Sharon, Jody, and Mr. Berglin again. Until then, I will cherish the memories of our perfect stay in Fairhope. Thank you all for blessing us with exceptional accommodations, excellent food, and the most delightful southern hospitality that anyone could ask for.

Room Tip: The Pelican's Rest is up a flight of stairs. If you have trouble traveling up stairs, you may re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Kristin
Thank you for the great review. I enjoyed meeting you and David and am so glad that you were pleased with your accomodations. I look forward to seeing you both in the future and hope that you had a nice trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Clear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Clear Cottages

Address: 18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on Mobile Bay. Each has queen bed and suitable for couple. Top quality accommodations. Ironed sheets and quality linens. DirecTV premium channels, wireless high-speed internet. Hot tub, pier. Fresh cooked breakfast of crab omelets, shrimp & grits, pecan waffles, blueberry pancakes, Monday thru Saturday. Nice continental breakast on Sunday's in cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Point Clear Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Clear Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.