We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not "The" Gumbo Shack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Shack

Gumbo Shack
212 1/2 Fairhope Ave, Fairhope, AL 36532
(251) 928-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 85 restaurants in Fairhope
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely not "The" Gumbo Shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

but deserving of the word Gumbo in their title...they have an original take on Gumbo that's quite zesty and plenty hearty with lots of meat in it..so a cup of it is pretty filling. The room sort of had a stale dive bar smell and feel, with employees who looked like that they would rather be shopping online....This made me think that "the Gumbo Shack" must be more of an evening scene...when perhaps the servers are little more peppy? I had just dropped in for a quick lunch at the counter and was delighted to find that they were watching Saved by the Bell on the flat screen! I can see how that may not be a plus for everyone, but there is another TV for college football - the only other possible alternative.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    17
    15
    11
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harahan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good find in a hard to find place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Look for the sign(s) and you'll find the restaurant. Tucked off street, it is quite a little dive but I didn't find it to be dark or dingy. Not fine dining people. If you're looking for that, go somewhere else. But if you're looking for a hearty, tasty meal, it could be the gem you're searching for. Turkey sandwiches served on large seeded buns are substantial. The turkey is smoked (no deli meat here; the real thing) and carved thick. I got the sandwich and Gumbo combo. It's called Naked Gumbo which is basically of turkey/sausage variety and you choose what you want to throw into it from a list of seafoods. I got shrimp. This is not Cajun, although Gumbo is not technically a Cajun dish. It is a creole dish that many confuse with Cajun fare; though Cajun cooks certainly can and do make great gumbo. Don't compare with what you think Gumbo "should" be and enjoy it for what it is. A good cup (served in a bowl; would love to see what the "bowl" serving option is!) chock full of tomatoes, okra, sausage and shrimp. The roux was not overly dark but was thick. Service was great. I couldn't decide whether my last bite should be of the sandwich or a final lovely spoonful of liquid warmth. I will pass thru on my next trip to the beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can be hard to find but well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This little place is right in the middle of town but set back from Fairhope Avenue so look for the sign on the sidewalk. Their gumbo is my role model; every time I make gumbo it's a little bit closer to theirs but I'm still cracking the code. We always order the same thing: two bowls of gumbo with crabmeat and a shrimp wrap to share. Oh, and two PBR's; Pabst Blue Ribbon seems to fit the menu and the locale.

If they're not busy (and this is a very popular spot) ask to see the giant gas-fired gadget where they make 35 gallons of gumbo at a time. I suggested that if they ever replace it, they may want to offer it to the Smithsonian Institute as an historical artifact.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No Authentic Cajun Food Here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place was featured on Diner's, Drive-Ins and Dives. Well, they got one thing right, it is a dive and maybe should have been featured on Restraurant Impossible because it really needs some help. The place is dark and dingy. I had the gumbo and it was bland and nothing close to Authentic Cajun. Don't bother spending your time or money. There are plenty of other excellent places to eat in Fairhope.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We live in Florida but went here because of Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Guy should be embarrassed. It was dirty and the service was non existent. The gumbo didn't taste like anything I had before. Too spicy. I wouldn't even call it a dive, that would be too good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Shack also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.