We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Plate

The Blue Plate
3850 West Main St., Houston Centre, Dothan, AL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 199 Restaurants in Dothan
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Dessert, Hamburgers, Seafood
Restaurant details
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stop in here when I go to Dothan...another hole-in-the-wall place that has great service and good...Very friendly staff.

We visit here often and suggest you do too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipperville, Al
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the best food you can get any place for the price. We have tried many different items and they have all been so delicious. The service is great and the staff is so friendly. They have the best fried buttermilk chicken and chicken livers in the world. We love this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chicken Salad Plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely love the chicken salad plate here. It is served with a huge helping a fresh fruit and the chicken salad itself is so delicious. You have got to try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food-Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very good southern cooking with some of the best sweet tea around. Everyone at our table, myself included really enjoyed our meal at The Blue Plate. The service is excellent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Southern home cooking favorites.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in to the Blue Plate one evening around 6:00pm. We were seated immediately. Had good service, good sweat tea, and good food. I was surprised to see purple hull peas on a resturant menu so I ordered them and they tasted just like Moma had cooked them herself fresh from the garden. I would recommend the Blue Plate if you are interested in deep south cousine

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Plate also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.