We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Flare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbs BBQ

Dobbs BBQ
2636 South Oates Street, Dothan, AL 36301
(334) 794-5195 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 187 Restaurants in Dothan
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local Flare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Dobbs is Dothan's oldest restaurant and it hasn't changed much since it opened. The interior is not fancy, neither is the food, but if I want BBQ in Dothan I, without hesitation, come to Dobbs. The brunswick stew is delicious. Don't forget to ask if Mr. Lee Dobbs is in and if he'll show you the Hooie Sooie stick trick.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    23
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ole Time BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dobb's has been in Dothan for many years. It is in a neat, old building and reminds you of mom and pop restaurants from the 50's. Good chipped BBQ sandwiches and smoked turkey. It is right on HWY 431 on the way to the beach. We like to get a family pack to-go to take to the beach for the weekend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Over priced nasty food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I went in for dinner and purchased three pork platters. Each platter is 9.99 each they came with a gelatin puree substance they call brunswick stew, a dinner roll two of us chose french fries that had been sitting under a heat lamp they were dry nowhere near fresh and they gave very little of them the baked beans were not very tastee more like over cooked pork and beans. The sides were the equivalent to one ice cream scoop. The pork as faintly smoked and they didnt give u very much, the main course section in the box was only half across and not close to half deep. I have eaten my share of bbq and for 10$ you shouldnt be able to finish a togo box!! Bad food high prices! 99¢ mcdouble would have been better!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Growing up around this area, Dobbs BBQ used to be heavily advertised and you had to go there because it was 'famous' if nothing else.

The food is OK, but it has really gone downhill over the years. This is one of those places I will go once in a great while but there are better places to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good BQ sandwhich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been here a few times and they have a good pork BQ sandwhich and coleslaw. It is a local country type place that could use some updating.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbs BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dobbs BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbs BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.