We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Dothan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Dothan to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Dothan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 WESTGATE PKWY, Dothan, AL 36303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dothan was the final night of a cross-country trip. We were tired, had stayed in some not-so-great hotels along the way. So this was the jewel -- the best hotel of the bunch.

It's pretty new, so everything is clean and modern/updated. The rooms were huge, and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable.

The hotel location is good -- near a mall and a number of restaurants. There's even a grocery store across the street if you want to pick up some fruit or snacks.

Breakfast was good, consistent with what you'd expect from a free breakfast.

For two weary travelers with a lot of miles on them, this was the perfect hotel. I hope my travels take me to Dothan again -- seems like a nice area -- and if I go there, this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: It goes without saying -- try to avoid a room that is next to the ice machine!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
7
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Kudos to the staff of this comfort suites. From the very kind young lady who checked us in to the wonderful older lady who managed the breakfast area the next morning. Lobby was very well kept. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was firm. Sheets and towels were fresh. PLENTY of restaurants and shopping around.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Arkansas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Did a layover on the way to Florida and found this inn better than a lot of the same chain. Desk attendants were courteous and helpful. Room was clean and fresh. The breakfast bar area was very clean, well attended, and satisfactory food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located on the Northwest side of Dothan. There are a lot of restaurants, store and shopping centers in the area. The building is attractive and the grounds are clean. Plenty of parking. The staff was very pleasant. The “free breakfast” was typical. The breakfast room was clean and attractive. The room was quiet, secure and clean. The bed was comfortable but the furniture was showing some wear and “dings”. The desk chair was wobbly and uncomfortable. In the morning when I got into the tub I was not able to divert the water to the shower head. I showered myself with a cup! It was not worth the $90.00 plus tax for one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Manager at Comfort Suites Dothan, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you being a guest of ours. I know that queit, clean, comfort, and customer service are the top priority when traveling away from home. I wanted to apologize about our showers....they can be tricky sometimes as they are some of the new brands of faucets that you have to pull down for the shower to start. We hope you give us a try again when traveling through Dothan. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me...

Thank you,
Kim Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have not routinely stayed at Comfort Suites, but have started booking their properties for my stays. The rooms are comfortable and accommodating to business travelers and the price is usually at a reasonable rate. This location was no different and the staff was friendly and courteous.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Manager at Comfort Suites Dothan, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I wanted to personally thank you for trying our Comfort Suites out. I am happy to hear that your stay was very enjoyable. We are thankful for all of our guests and look forward to staying with us again. If we can ever help with your reservation please call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, GA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just stayed here for the first time at the Comfort Suites in Dothan, AL and it is a nice, clean, and newer hotel that has a good location close to great restaurants and plenty of shopping. However my entire stay I about went nuts with the TV and it's remote. I didn't know what channel was what, the tv did not show the channels as I flipped from channel to channel, and if I wanted to enter a specific channel with the number keys it would not work. Not sure if this is a common issue in all the rooms or just mine, but it was not pleasant. Also it would occassionally lose it's signal for a few seconds and there was not a cloud in the sky during my stay. There is a few basics I like to expect from a nicer hotel like this and that is a clean nice room (check), a comfortable bed (check), decent internet connection (check), and a television that is user friendly (grrrr). If I remember correctly I was in room 115 and would be curious to know if this is common in all rooms or if I was just unlucky and got a bad TV or remote. Anyways, off the soap box, I would stay here again if I was in Dothan, but I would say something next time if the TV issues continue. I looked over the morning breakfast and it seemed fair. Not as good as some Comfort Suites, but not the worst either. I was going to eat an orange, but they were old and mushy feeling to the touch and should have been thrown out. The warm bar portion consisted of biscuts and sausage gravy (no eggs or meat like I've had at other comfort suite hotels). They did have brand name cereal and the breakfast beverages were good. Hope this review is helpful and constructive to hotel management to work on the couple issues I mentioned so it can live up to it's #1 rating on trip advisor and it's slightly expensive nightly rate compared to other nicer comfort suites I've stayed at in other citys that are about $20 a night less. Thanks for reading my review!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham -Alabama
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife, 3 other famly members, and I stayed here last Friday night. The property is less than 2 years old; and it is one of the best Comfort Suites which I have visited. The location is outstanding; 1/4 block from the major Highway that runs north/south (U.S. Highway 231), less than 1/4 mile from the only mall in Dothan (Wiregrass Commons), and less than 1/2 mile from the U.S. Highway that encircles Dothan (U.S. Highway 231/Ross Clark Circle). The staff was bright and attentive. The breakfast was outstanding. The room itself was airy and the beds comfortable. On a less than postive note, there was a problem with booking online. When I attempted the same, the response was "booked". When I called the property, rooms were available; and I was offered several discount options. When I mentioned my search results to the manager, she seemed surprised and she said that the hotel was not fully booked for that night.

Room Tip: Call property if a problem arises with booking on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Dothan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Dothan

Address: 1650 WESTGATE PKWY, Dothan, AL 36303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Dothan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five miles from the Dothan Regional Airport, the Comfort Suites® hotel is close to a number of local points of interest. Troy University, Southeast Alabama Medical Center, Fort Rucker military facility and Ag Fibers manufacturing company are all minutes from this Dothan, AL hotel. Many golf courses, parks and outdoor recreation areas are nearby. Several entertainment venues, retailers and restaurants can be found in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Dothan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Dothan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.