We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Hospitality Lane, Dothan, AL 36303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Dickson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Couldn't have picked a better location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great place to stop on our way to Jensen Beach Florida. Elderly parents feel safe in their own "senior Friendly" room where they are always placed across he hall from my wife and me. Just across the street is a large mall, seveeral eating places, and access to gasoline stations. The location is perfect for us since the hotel is placed on the bypass at the edge of town. Wonderful full hot breakfast with everything from eggs to and all the trimmings for a hot country breakfast, to the fine selections of cold cereal. Orange juice, hot coffee and milk are all provided along with "real plates and flatware" to sit in a comfortable setting for a total FREE hot breakfast which is included in the room price. Call well in advance if you want a 2 bedroom suite, as they book up well ahead of time. One bedroom suites with one king or two QUEENS (not doubles= beds) are most often available. We stop every year on the way to our timeshare. Great experience.

Room Tip: Every room I have been given has been the same Marriott quality I expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
9
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

On a recent visit to Dothan, Alabama, I stayed at the Residence Inn. The property was very clean and well maintained. The entire staff was hospitable and professional though I want to mention one "standout" individual at the front desk, Sherry. Sherry would always greet me with a warm smile and ask if there was anything I needed. I will be certain to choose the Residence Inn, Dothan next time as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed on night Mar 12 after long day of driving on way to Fl. Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. King bed very comfortable, room quiet, breakfast better than most continentals. Only negative is realize these are residence rooms so bathroom sink, mirror is right off bedroom with no door except to shower area. My spouse is early to rise so light and noise from getting ready can be disturbing to person trying to sleep. Used points to stay another nice Marriott perk. Recommend especially for singles, more than one night or families with children.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if need good rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel (in Dothan). This was a 2wk business trip and I highly recommend the Residence Inn.

Service - Excellent. Breakfast every morning included plenty of options and no fake eggs like other hotels. Evening receptions (Mon,Tue, and every other Wed) included meals and beer/wine. Both breakfast and dinner are included in the price. The staff are very friendly and incredibly helpful. They let us use the grill on the patio as well.

Room - Clean, plenty of room, excellent kitchen for longer stays (full size fridge, dishwasher, utensils, dishes, etc). There's a desk, pull out couch, small dining table, great internet, and if you need anything the staff are happy to help.

Location - Very convenient location to/from the airport. Plenty of restaurants, movie theater, stores nearby. This hotel was recommended to me by a colleague and I'd like to pass it on to anyone that will be in the area. I had to drive ~20mi every morning/evening vs staying somewhere closer to where I was working but WOULD do it again.

Amenities - The only thing I really wish had been a bit nicer would be the gym/workout room. Residence Inn has 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical and 1 recumbent bike. It was alright but after having stayed at various Hampton Inns for work, I missed having free weights and a few other options. This isn't enough for me to stay elsewhere unless the rooms, service, staff were equal...and in Dothan that's not the case.

Overall this was the best option in Dothan for my travel and I'd recommend it to anyone in the area. Don't forget Marriott Rewards points if you're a member :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is beautifully maintained, has an especially nice full breakfast daily and evening supper 2-3 days. The beds are comfortable, smooth sheets and I love the seersucker washed spread. The grounds are beautiful and the staff very welcoming. There is a pool (unheated) and hot tub that we used in December! Sherry makes you feel very special, greets guests by name; Mary Ruth is the breakfast Queen. I would recommend this to anyone in the area. There are name restaurants across the street and every sort of shopping.

Room Tip: Third Floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We appreciate the location of this hotel. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by to choose from. Staff responded quickly to requests. Quiet facilities. I had a good nights sleep which doesn't usually happen if hallways are noisy. Rooms are nice sized and the well maintained. Great stop. We will be happy to return when we are traveling in the area again.

Room Tip: Breakfast area was clean and well stocked for the meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because it looks fairly new and I am a marriott rewards member and I have stayed at other Residence Inn before. I Stopped here for an overnight stay and was not disappointed. Check in was fast and the room requested at reservation (top floor and quiet) was provided. The room (studio) was spacious and clean which easily accommodate my suitcases. The bedding was fresh and very comfortable after a long day of travelling on airplanes. The breakfast buffet was hot served plus there were continental choices for business travellers on the go which was a bonus for this hotel. Lastly, the staff from check in to check out was first class and friendly to include the ladies inthe breakfast area. A wonderful stay and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan

Address: 186 Hospitality Lane, Dothan, AL 36303
Location: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dothan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether arriving in Dothan to visit companies such as Farley Nuclear, Commercial Jet, Southeast Alabama Medical Center, Flowers Hospital, Georgia Pacific, or enjoying area points of interest such as Robert Trent Jones Golf, Historical sites of Dothan or the Panhandle Beaches, the Residence Inn Dothan is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Dothan Hotel Dothan
Dothan Residence Inn
Dothan Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Dothan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.