We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River City Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in early January 2014. I found the room to be clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the usual, hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, biscuits, toast, bagels, waffles, fruit, etc. It was set up nicely and everything appeared clean. The staff was nice. I had no problems with the stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
On behalf of the staff at Best Western here in Decatur, Alabama, we sincerely appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your recent stay with us. We value each of our guests, and always strive to make sure their stays are enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to your return visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
17
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin rapids, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Not clean, and Asian beetles in room. The staff tried to deny my upgrade that I'm entitled to being a diamond member. This is the worst Best Western I've ever stayed at, and I stay a lot. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff at Best Western, Decatur Alabama, we sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property. We have addressed each of these issues that were brought to our attention in the review you submitted. Again, we sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at the hotel was great at helping re-arrange my stay when the airline left me stranded. The gym membership is great to use on trips to help work off the extra food. They collected food for the local food shelf showing they go beyond just being a business and are concerned for their community.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback regarding your recent experience at our property. Yes, we love our guests and our community!! We appreciate you mentioning that in your review, and the off-site gym is just another one of the outstanding services we offer our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My whole family and wedding party stayed there for my wedding October 2012. Very nice employees they made sure we had what we needed. Basically gave us the run of the place. Very helpful on such an important day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so happy that your wedding guests had a postive experience at our property. We always look forward to our groups, and are thankful that you chose our property as your preferred hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm OCD when it comes to hotels and cleanliness, among other things. I was concerned about the hotels in the area after reading some reviews. We travel with our two dogs and some of the rooms you get for dogs are pretty gross. I was extremely happy with our stay at Best Western River City. Plenty of area to walk our dogs, plus you didn't feel like a second class citizen bringing dogs in. The room was very clean, no evidence of prior dogs. I like the fact that our coffee pot, microwave, fridge was not "in" the bathroom, plus that area had it's own sink. We stayed 5 days so I was very pleased they had a guest laundry that was very clean as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at our property in Decatur, Alabama. It makes us happy to know that you & your pets enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return visit when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you take showers in the mornings, then this is not the place for you. It trickled out of the shower head. The water temp was either hot or cold, there was no in between. When I asked the front desk about the problem, she stated that the water pressure is poor when everyone is taking a shower in the morning. I think that is a big issue the they need to fix.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention so it can be addressed immediately. We would love the opportunity to have you come back & stay with us when you return to the Decatur area. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have enjoyed this hotel and this hotel is perfect for the holidays. They provided a good breakfast to start your day. They are close to shopping centers and restaurants. You can use their gym membership to run off those family meals or use their weights. I have always received great service from the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We love our guests, and we always look forward to our return guests!!! We are conveniently located near dining, shopping & the Decatur business district. We appreciate you mentioning all the positive amenities and services we extend to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Address: 1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN River City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Decatur
Decatur Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.