We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of whitts barbecue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
whitts barbecue
918 6th Ave SE, Decatur, AL 35601
256-351-6294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Decatur
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

A southern classic, not to be missed. My sisters (who live in Utah) frequently request I over-night them "Whitts care packages"

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Always enjoy their BBQ. The Brunswick stew is also great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent take out barbecue for the masses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Good quality barbecue available from 11am to 8pm daily. They will serve it at your local office or park. Good tasting chicken or pork. Nice cole slaw and beans as well. Too bad it is only in Decatur & Athens, Alabama. We need one in Crystal River, Florida.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Bar-b-que takeout, has the tradional North Alabama standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Skip Barber Mechanic crew loves the Brunswick Stew. When I visit Decatur, I take a gallon of stew back with me. I always get 4-6 pounds of Bar-B-que pork to take back to South Florida. This trip, I also got Bar-B-Que Chickens with White Sauce to serve the Skip Barber Flagging and Communications crew. It was a BIG hit.
There are a couple of tables outside, but I have never seen anyone eating at the tables. The usual is take-out.
Witts has a Vaccum Seal for bulk orders at an extra charge, but well worth the small fee if you are traveling.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with Whitt's!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Decatur, AL and were so tired we did not feel like sitting in a restaurant. We started checking out local eateries on TripAdvisor and discovered several really positive reviews of Whitt's, which is take-out only. The clerk at the hotel had recommended Big Bob Gibsons but TA reviews leaned toward Whitt's--we are sooooo glad we took TA's advice. We had no trouble locating Whitt's and did not have to wait to order. Our order was ready to go in just a couple of minutes and we happily went back to the hotel to relax and eat. We are from Georgia and have great barbeque places all around us, but Whitt's is a little different. My husband said the pork was more tender and flavorful than any we get. I took the advice of one of the TA reviewers and ordered the smoked turkey which I normally do not like beacuse it is usually dry. TA reviewers recommended the white sause for the turkey and it was fantastic--I have never had a barbeque tasting white sauce. I am not sure the turkey needed sauce for moisture because it was not dry, but the sauce certainly added to the barbeque experience. We also had potato salad, beans, and slaw, all of which were great. We would definitely return to any Whitt's and I hope they decide to expand into Georgia.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed whitts barbecue also viewed

 

Been to whitts barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage whitts barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.