We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Decatur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Decatur to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Decatur
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2041 Beltline Road SW, Decatur, AL 35601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The best thing this hotel has going for it is it's employees. Super nice, super accomodating, very friendly. We stayed here with a 17 year old girls soccer team for a tournament and the hotel was clean, breakfast was great, and the grounds were beautiful. Only drawback the entire stay was the AC in the room. It really didn't put out much cold air, so we had some warm nights. Love Hampton Inn because you always know what to expect when you stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Decatur, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our staff strives everyday to welcome our guests and help to pass on " Hamptonality " to each and every guest that visits with us. We look forward to serving you again on our next visit...
Thanks Again, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    43
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
19
5
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
golconda
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The lady who checked us in, wish I could remember her name was very nice. My wife asked her what the name of the blooming bush outside was called and she said a switch bush because her mother used to whip her with switches from the bush. The bed was quite comfortable. The room was clean and everything worked. The breakfast was standard fare for type of motel. It was a bit pricey though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Decatur, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your gracious comments about our friendly staff. In our business it is the people that make the difference and we have really good people. They have wonderful stories and experiences to share such as the one about the switch bush. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience through Trip Advisor. We look forward to your next visit.
Thanks, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I always stay at Hamptons. They are always the same and always very nice. Never plan to stay anywhere else! I do have a question for everyone to consider... Every hotel gives a price break to government employees, as I am not one, this always annoys me. Why can't I get the same price as they get?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here three days for a sporting event during the month of April. To begin with, reservations could not understand a simple request of moving a reservation from one name and credit card to a different name. It took two phone calls to finally get someone on the phone who was able to understand and complete the request. Next after we arrived the front desk clerk was rude and condescending. No way to treat a guest who had been on the road all day. The room was supposed to be non smoking but it smelled like smoke. Carpet and furniture filthy and bathroom in desperate need of repair. Breakfast (free) was cold and only after looking up and down the halls and lobby did I find an attendant to find out if they had any hot tea (they were out). For $100+ dollars a night, stay next door at the county inn and suites, (highly rated) Don't stay at the Hampton, and finance Paris Hilton's lavish lifestyle. Hampton is a Hilton branded hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Finding this hotel was a bit of an issue. It is about 10 miles off I-65 in the city of Decatur. GPS does not recognize the address. After stopping for directions, the hotel was on a main street behind Applebees. The hotel signs on the street or building were not lit, making it difficult to find. Upon arrival, the staff was very accommodating, the lobby and breakfast areas newly redecorated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lobby and common area has recently been remodeled so first impression is quite nice.

Reception staff is possibly the best I've encountered at a Hampton. Those of you that stay at Hamptons know the staff at these hotels usually are very friendly and professional - and I'm usually at one monthly. Their restaurant suggestions were great and every time I entered the hotel in the evenings they addressed me by name - even 5 nights later.

Breakfast is typical Hampton, maybe a little on the less than due to limited choices - good when hurrying to work, but not a choice if you have others. Rooms are clean, but really dated. TVs struggle a little to work when first turned on. Doors are thin. I was six rooms away from the elevator/vending and every morning was awakened by some idiot using the ice machine to possibly fill a cooler since it seemed to go on forever every morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I am a frequent attendee of Hilton properties, and this was no different. Same rates, same rooms, everything you would normally see from a Hampton except if you have a problem... I had a small issue with my tv, nothing major. 2 hours later I am staying in a Holiday Inn. Too long of a story to get into. I would recommend looking else where.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Decatur, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Sir, thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. I am truly sorry that your experience resulted in your dissatisfaction. We replaced our TV system over the last week and went live Tuesday afternoon. Unfortunately the service technicians are still experiencing switchover challenges and my staff was unable to correct the issue until the next day. We strive every day here at The Hampton Inn, Decature to be the hotel of choice for our Decatur, AL visitors. Currently we are 95% complete with our renovation project. The new TV system, upgraded Business Center computers and an upgraded Wi-Fi system are just the most recent activities this week along with the floor to ceiling remodeling of our common areas and guests rooms. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Decatur

Address: 2041 Beltline Road SW, Decatur, AL 35601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Decatur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Decatur Hotel Decatur
Decatur Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Decatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.