We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good except rude staff very unprofessional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2226 Beltline Road South-West, Decatur, AL 35601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Decatur
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pretty good except rude staff very unprofessional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ok.. This was a fairly pleasant stay up to a point. I mean its nothing fancy. But ok for a budget stay. Old tvs. Certainly no flatscreens. What they dub "pillow top" mattresses do have a small padded top. However they are not very comfortable. The breakfast is very basic. However it turned from just ok to Bad..When I was in town and had to have a root canal and stayed over a few days (after having dealt with some really nice ladies the rest of the time) I am trying to rest after a ton of meds from the dentist and this rude clerk ( michael) calls the room and in sarcastic sing-song voice tells me Im late checking out. I had rebooked online the night before. He tries to raise the rate. I could have booked for less on priceline but was kinda made believe Id have the same rate through my stay. So while I am stuck for tonight .. I was going to stay 2 more days. Im going to marriot or holiday inn for tomorrow. If im going to be gouged for $ itll be where there is an indoor pool/hottub and where I wont be spoken to rudely...not a dinky lil microtel. He is bad for business. When he badgers a rewards member to the point they cut the stay short over 10$ here and there?? He lost a customer for the next few days ... And the parking lot is pretty darn empty. Your loss microtel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    56
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
76
32
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

After spending our first of two nights in Decatur at another hotel which was anything but clean, we had to change. A very friendly Michael came thru with multiple rooms for our soccer team! Friendly staff, clean hotel, and a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our property during a Special Events weekend. We were to delighted to know that you enjoyed your first stay with us, and look forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here while in Decatur, AL for a family funeral. The staff here were the best we've ever encounted during a hotel stay. We went to the front desk for directions & suggestions on where to order food for after the funeral service. During our stay, we dealt mostly with Michael, Nick and the woman who was working with Nick on 11/4/12 (I wish I could remember her name). We feel they went above and beyond what was expected. This hotel should be very proud of their staff. Our room was clean. The only suggestion I would have in the bathroom would be to add a couple more towel racks. There was only one. We had no place to hang another bath towel or our hand towel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback regarding your stay here at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham in Decatur, Alabama. I am pleased that our staff took such excellent care of you and your family during a very sad time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were working at a two day equestrian event and needed a place to rest our tired bones. The Microtel in Decatur, AL, was just the place. Friendly staff, quiet hallways, and a comfortable bed.
The a.m. breakfast choice consisted of biscuits, sausage gravy, instant oatmeal, muffins, pastry, cereals, juices, coffee and more. We'll stay there again on a return trip.

Room Tip: If possible, get a 3rd floor room away from the elevator, preferably at the end of one of the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We appreciate you so much for sharing your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham experience while attending an event in the Decatur area. We always look forward to our return guests, so we will see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Address: 2226 Beltline Road South-West, Decatur, AL 35601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites - Decatur Hotel Decatur
Microtel Decatur
Decatur Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.