We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Decatur!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Bistro

Albany Bistro
1051 Grant Street SE, Decatur, AL 35601
+1 256-686-1667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Decatur
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of the Historic Albany neighborhood, in Decatur, Alabama, Albany Bistro brings a new sophistication to classic southern fare. Our chef sources from local organic growers to bring you the best flavors of the season. Albany Bistro changes it's menu weekly to reflect the local growers' bounty. Isn't it time you escape the ordinary.
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
“One of the Best in Decatur!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Wonderful wine list. Rotating seasonal menu selections. Fresh local ingredients.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The tripadvisor reviews being great, I looked at the menu and my mouth immediately started watering. I called a week ahead for a reservation and was glad I did. This is a small neighborhood restaurant in a beautiful historic building. The food was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

My only regret was that we were passing through and only had the opportunity to eat one meal here. We had the beignets and stuffed mushrooms for starters. The beignets came with a caramel sauce which was excellent! Then we had the red velvet waffle with the cream cheese syrup. Oh my - what a treat. Like getting to eat dessert for an entree. We also had the bacon wrapped quail with spinach and grits. Just amazing. I felt like I was in a food coma when I walked out of there. Just and all around great dining experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful Fathers Day brunch. My father was so impressed and deemed this the best Fathers day in years. Our brunch was excellent, especially the Red Velvet waffles, the whole group was asking for a taste of the 2 that were ordered. A special thanks to the staff and a big salute to all of you who assisted in our large party. We will be back for many more brunch Sundays. I will try the chocolate gravy next time I visit for sure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We so enjoyed our brunch at the Albany Bistro. Our waiter made us feel special, the food was delicious, my husband raved about the tomatoe gravy, and the lovely guitarist finished out a lovely afternoon. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Master Chef Quality Cuisine in Quaint Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This small restaurant offers excellent food. The chef has mastered the ability to take some mainstay Southern dishes into a truly beautiful presentation with excellent taste. I had buttermilk fried chicken breast, natural mashed potatoes and collard greens. They were presented beautifully on the dish. It came with a wonderful brown gravy. And all three were excellent.

My wife got an eggplant dish and she enjoyed it as well. And it looked as good as it tasted. It looked like it came off of a food magazine cover.

We both had a chocolate-hazelnut cream brulee for dessert. It was a small size, but just what we needed after our large portioned main courses. It was excellent!

This place is small. We arrived early. If you plan to arrive after 6 p.m. reservations would be recommended. Because of its small size, it is a little noisy. But not enough to take away from the overall enjoyment.

We received excellent service from our waitress. We never once had to ask for more drink, etc.

Compared to other restaurants in the Decatur area, A.B. is a little pricey. The chicken dish was $20. The eggplant dish was $17. But "you get what you pay for."

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Albany Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.