We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amberley Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amberley Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Amberley Suite Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   807 Bank Street Northeast, Decatur, AL 35601 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Decatur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Opelika, AL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“A Great Deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had a last minute work related project come up in Decatur. We'd been told by more than one person to not stay at the Holiday Inn. So we made reservations at the Country Inn & Suites. Walking distance to the Tennessee River. The River is beautiful, but I'm not sure any of downtown Decatur is particularly safe. Our hotel was fine and not far from the main restaurant row. I wouldn't have walked anywhere. The room was nice and quiet. Obviously remodeled, but well done. There were college softball teams staying here for a tournament and we heard nothing from our room in the far building in the corner. It was great. Obviously an older place with nooks and crannies to stick a desk & chair. It was great!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    5
    9
    9
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stopped through here on our way to Florida. Need GPS to find it, it's 10 minutes from the interstate. Hotel is definately dated. Room was clean, breakfast was nice, staff was very nice. We didn't pay much and that made it "OK". It is right at the edge of the amazingly well done small historic downtown. You can walk the street and enjoy. It seems safe and very well lit. Only one place to eat, but it looked just fine. I actually would like to go back and check out this town. Perhaps during one of their 'confederate festivals'.

Room Tip: use the internet to get the best rate. I doubt they are full very often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Outside of hotel was poorly lit. Room numbers were poorly marked on the outside entrances of the building and the inside hallways. It was easy to get lost. Room had an unpleasant odor and wasn't very clean. Refrigerator would never shut off and hummed very loudly all night. Train track was close by and vibrated the room whenever a train went by. Luggage cart was very rickety and it squeaked so loudly it probably woke up everyone in the building.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Stains on carpet
Poorly lighted and narrow hallways
If you are a female traveler don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed for a wedding.Great staff, great room and great breakfast. Well worth the price.Be sure to ask for rooms with the elevator acess

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

It was the dirtiest hotel I've ever seen! My room had mold all over the closet door. Another room had rat poop and an awful odor. Just plain nasty!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We walked in and were immediately greeted with smiles. We had a speedy check-in along with great briefing of the hotel. The entire staff was very polite and treated us as if we were kings and queens. We stayed in a king suite. We loved that the bedroom was separate from the living area. The only thing we hated, is that we had to depart out so soon. WE WILL RETURN! Thank you for everything Country Inn & Suites, Decatur, AL.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amberley Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Suite Hotel

Address: 807 Bank Street Northeast, Decatur, AL 35601 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Decatur)
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amberley Suite Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Amberley Suite Hotel - Decatur, AL. The hotel offers the perfect combination of relaxation and modern convenience. Located in historic Decatur, our charming hotel is ideally situated to provide guests with easy access to the best of the city. This three-story, 110-room hotel offers full American breakfast, high-speed Wi-Fi, outdoor swimming pool, courtyard and gazebo and 24 hour fitness center. All rooms include microwave, fridge and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amberley Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decatur Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amberley Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.