We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonable prices, nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JT's Sunset Grill

JT's Sunset Grill
1102 DeSoto Ave, Dauphin Island, AL
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Mobile, AL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I live about ten miles north of Dauphin Island. It's an area that is about midway between the island and a ton of restaurants to the north. We consistently pick JT's. The food isn't pretentious it's just good. It is served on paper plates and we eat on the deck overlooking the sound. Order the shrimp tacos or the soft shell crab and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“good meal- great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I enjoyed eating some fresh shrimp at JT's- and the crabcakes were scrumptious! ( made by a nearby cajun grandma, aurthentic, for sure!)-The spices ( I got it blackened) could've been a bit more spicy for my taste but overall the food was good-and the service was excellent. This was our first night on the Island so the VIEW really felt magical- The Harbor and the boats at night were really picturesque from the dock/patio where we dined.. ATTN! Quick consideration- There is a bar upstairs ( a different owner)- You can eat up there but cannot drink downstairs- KIDS cannot go up to the bar- so parents, be adivisedi if you are looking forward to a cocktail or a beer with your dinner!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a must visit restaurant if you are in the area! The grill shrimp were fantastic!, The grilled Grouper was the best I have had in a very long time!. Everything we ordered was very tasty. The staff was friendly and the service was great. We had one of the tables outside and witnessed a wonderful sunset! Great ending to a great day! Think about getting there a little early, the restaurant fills up fast! If you like seafood, go here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best server ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The food was wonderful and our server was very busy but totally attentive to our table. Our party had blackened fish tacos- 5 stars, shrimp po-boys, blackened fish po-boys, both 5 stars. Everyone wants to go back before our trip ends!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ISLAND FAVORITE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hands down, this was our favorite. Blackened shrimp tacos, grilled shrimp, fried fish. Everything we ordered was so yummy. The staff was friendly and the service was great. When we arrived we were the only party in the restaurant, when we left there wasn't a table inside or outside. This was some of the best seafood I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JT's Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to JT's Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JT's Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.