We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to explore history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Gaines

Fort Gaines
51 Bienville Ave, Dauphin Island, AL
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A restored fort that dates back to the colonial era.
Magee, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great way to explore history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our daughter has been studying about the Civil War in school recently, so she was very intrigued by the Fort. It is a very relaxed tour, since it's a "do it yourself".

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    82
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“The Kids Loved Fort Gaines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I live in Gulf Shores and we are lucky to have to so many forts that are really easy to get to in close proximity. my children love going through the forts and seeing the various chambers and rooms. The darker the better. We went to Fort Gaines today after having seen Fort Morgan and Fort Barrancas recently. It was a great day and the weather was good. The ferry ride to Dauphin Island was fun and so was the fort. The site itself is in great shape and the majority of it is open to the public. There is a nice park across the street at the boat ramp. The grounds are well kept. There is a good bit of information and a nice gift shop and they even had the blacksmiths working and forging in their quarters. There are also some sections of various ships that washed ashore during hurricanes. All in all this is one of the nicer forts we have visited and the kids loved it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well restored and so much history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been 5 times and the kids simply love it. We talk about what it would have been like to live there. We like to buy the creations from the blacksmith. They do a great job of explaining what they are doing and why with the metal. I will go again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fort Gaines Interesting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Interesting history at Fort Gaines. Not a ton of stuff to see, but we did enjoy going through the Fort and reading about some of the history. It's always fun to learn about historic places that we visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Important historic site; well planned for visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Allow at least a couple of hours plus for this site if you really want to take it all in. You can do it in under an hour, but would probably miss much of the historical significance. The site's self-guiding tour folder takes you through the various points but you really must stop to read the information presented at each of the points rather than rely on the short description in the folder. Follow it around in order and end up at the museum which is full of information about the Civil War, the battle of Mobile Bay, and the other conflicts in which Fort Gaines played a role. If you are a history buff, or a Civil War re-enactor, or just want to see what things were like and how people lived in those times, this is a great attraction.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Gaines also viewed

 

Been to Fort Gaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Gaines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.